Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

Amateur Boxing

Haryana, Uttar Pradesh boxers impress at Sub-Junior Boxing Nationals

Published at :May 24, 2022 at 8:24 PM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : BFI)

Shaunak Ghosh

Five puglists each from the state entered the quarter-finals of the competition.

Boxers from Haryana and Uttar Pradesh displayed impressive show at the 2022 Sub-Junior Boxing Nationals as five boys progressed into the quarter-finals at the Inspire Institute of Sports in Bellary, Karnataka.

Vinit Kumar began the day brilliantly for Haryana when he outclassed Rajasthan’s Chandra Shekhar by unanimous decision in the 40kg pre-quarter final. Hunny (43kg), Mahesh (46kg) and Lokesh (64kg) further extended Haryana's dominance with victories by similar margins. While Hunny and Mahesh thrashed Telangana’s Sana Ulla and Nikhil Goud respectively, Lokesh defeated Uttar Pradesh’s Pritam Gupta.

Yogesh Danda was the fifth Haryana boxer to make his way into the Last-8 stageof the Sub-Junior Boxing Nationals after beating Pondicherry’s Prithvi by RSC verdict in the 52kg category in the Sub-Junior Boxing Nationals.

Producing equally dominant performances, four Uttar Pradesh pugilists—MD Faiz (61kg), Lakshya Singh Parihar (40kg), Vishal Yadav (67kg) and Vishu Rajtun (70kg) clinched sensational RSC wins in their respective pre-quarterfinals while Ravi Gond had to work hard during his 55kg match against Assam’s Shahiman Newar but managed to win by a split 4-1 decision.

While Faiz and Lakshya defeated Andhra Pradesh’s Teja Krishna Yadav and Uttarakhand’s Karan Adhikari respectively, Vishal and Vishnu outpunched Maharashtra’s Shivam Ijagaj and Orissa’s Akash Kumar Panigrahi.

Delhi’s Shivam and Lovjeet, and Chandigarh’s Loven and Nittin were among the other pugilists who entered Sub-Junior boxing nationals quarter-finals with strong performances.

Shyam (49kg) and Lovjeet (58kg) registered identical 5-0 wins against their respective opponents from Maharashtra, Atharva Naik and Atharva Bhatt.

On the other hand, Nittin made light work of Telangana’s Pranav Shiva to win by 5-0 in the 37kg category while, in the 70kg Last-16 bout, Loven notched up a commanding RSC win against Madhya Pradesh’s Suryabhan Singh.

The on-going championship has been witnessing participation of 621 boxers, including 348 in the boys’ section, from 31 teams across the country. Each bout consists of three rounds of two minutes each with a minute’s break between each round.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.