Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


Asia Cup 2023: Squads of all teams participating in the tournament

Published at :August 21, 2023 at 3:38 PM
Modified at :January 13, 2024 at 6:04 PM
Post Featured Image

Saurabh Anand


Six teams will participate in the Asia Cup 2023 with Nepal taking part for the first time.

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan along with a new entrant Nepal will be playing in the Asia Cup 2023. The previous edition in 2022 was played in a T20 format as a preparatory tournament to T20 World Cup in Australia. Now, in this year eyeing World Cup 2023 in India, the top 6 Asian teams will be looking to show their full might in this tournament.

Asia Cup 2023 will be played in Sri Lanka and Pakistan in a hybrid model. Earlier Pakistan were picked as hosts of the tournament, but a tussle with BCCI prompted ACC to decide on Sri Lanka and Pakistan as the co-host of the Asia Cup 2023.

6 teams to participate in the Asia Cup 2023

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had reservations against sending their team to Pakistan due to security concerns. Asia Cup 2023 will be played with 6 teams divided in two groups of three teams each. Top two from each group will go ahead to play in super 4 round where they will take on each other.

Then the top 2 teams from the super 4 round will go on to play for the 16th Asia Cup title in Final at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on 17th September. India, Pakistan and Nepal are placed in Group A while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are placed in Group B.

Entire tournament will be played in 4 grounds around two different counties. For the first time in the history of Asia Cup the event will be held in two different countries. Multan and Lahore will host the matches in Pakistan, while Colombo and Kandy will be hosting matches Sri Lanka.

Multan Cricket Stadium will be hosting the tournament opener as Pakistan will be taking on Nepal on 30th August. Asia Cup will also greet fans with the cricket’s biggest spectacle India vs Pakistan not once but twice if both of the teams qualify for the super 4 stage. There’s a possibility of India taking on Pakistan thrice in the tournament as well if both make it to the final.

Two India vs Pakistan matches almost confirmed

India vs Pakistan will be played on 2nd September at Pallekele Cricket Stadium in Kandy. If India and Pakistan qualify for the super 4 stage, their next match will happen on 10th September at R Premadasa Cricket Stadium in Colombo. Nepal will be making their debut in the big Asia Cup event. Nepal qualified for the event after defeating UAE in the Asia Cup qualifiers event in their own backyard. Nepal won the final of the qualifier by 7 wickets and booked their place in Group A of the Asia Cup.

Full squads of all teams participating in the Asia Cup 2023

Pakistan Asia Cup Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir

Bangladesh Asia Cup Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mamhud, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain,  Ebadot Hossain, Mohammad Naim

Nepal Asia Cup Squad: Rohit Paudel (c), Asif Sheikh, Kusal Bhurtel, Lalit Rajbanshi, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, D.S. Airee, Sandeep Lamichhane, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Arif Sheikh, Sompal Kami, Pratis GC, Kishor Mahato, Sundeep Jora, Arjun Saud, Shyam Dhakal.

India Asia Cup Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (VC), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad: Yet to be announced

Afghanistan Asia Cup Squad: Yet to be announced

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.