Asian Games 2023 Cricket: Who won which medal in Men’s T20I competition

Sagar PaulSagar Paul

October 7 2023
Indian cricket team won gold medal at Asian Games 2023
(Courtesy : Twitter/SonyLIV)

Asian Games 2023 men’s cricket competition got concluded on Saturday, 7th October.

Cricket made a triumphant return to the Asian Games after a hiatus of nine years, marking its presence in an international setting for the first time. This milestone was significant as every match during this edition was recognized as an official international match. A total of 14 teams from across Asia participated in this historic event, including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Mongolia, Maldives, Nepal, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, and Japan.

Among the participating teams, the five top-seeded nations – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan – received a direct entry into the quarter-finals, bypassing the initial group stage. The remaining nine teams, however, embarked on a journey through the group stage, where they were divided into three groups of three teams each, who then qualified for the quarter-final stage.

In the women’s cricket competition, India secured the gold medal, while Sri Lanka won silver and Bangladesh took home the bronze.

Let’s now explore the medal winners in the Men’s T20I competition.

Bronze – Bangladesh:

Bangladesh cricket team, Asian Games 2023
Bangladesh cricket team. (Image Source: Twitter)

Bangladesh secured a direct spot in the quarter-finals, where they faced Malaysia. The match was a nail-biter, with Bangladesh narrowly winning by just 2 runs. However, in the semi-final, Bangladesh faced a formidable India and suffered a significant 9-wicket defeat.

In the bronze medal match against Pakistan, rain caused a reduction in the game to just 5 overs per side. Pakistan managed to score 48 runs in their allotted 5 overs. Due to the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method, Bangladesh’s target was adjusted to 65. Bangladesh showcased brilliant batting skills, needing 4 runs off the final ball. Rakibul Hasan came through with a boundary, securing a thrilling 6-wicket victory via DLS and clinching the bronze medal.

Silver – Afghanistan:

Afghanistan Cricket Team, Asian Games 2023
Afghanistan Cricket Team. (Image Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan earned a direct spot in the quarter-finals and faced Sri Lanka in a closely contested match, ultimately prevailing by a slim margin of 8 runs. In the semi-finals, Afghanistan took on Pakistan and secured a 4-wicket victory.

In the final match, Afghanistan were facing India for the gold medal. They lost the toss and had to bat first. By the time 18.2 overs had been played, Afghanistan had scored 112 runs for the loss of 5 wickets. Tragically, rain began to interrupt the match, and it intensified to the point where the game had to be abandoned. As a result, India were declared the winner of the gold medal because they were the higher-ranked team compared to Afghanistan, who had to settle for the silver medal.

Gold – India:

Indian cricket team celebrate after winning Gold medal in Men's cricket at Asian Games 2023
Indian cricket team celebrate after winning Gold medal in Men’s cricket at Asian Games 2023. (Image Source: Twitter)

India’s journey in the tournament saw them securing an automatic spot in the quarter finals, where they clashed with Nepal. In a commanding performance, India comfortably outperformed Nepal, winning by a substantial margin of 23 runs. Their exceptional form continued in the semi-finals against Bangladesh, where India showcased their dominance, achieving a convincing 9-wicket victory

In the final, India faced off against Afghanistan with the gold medal at stake. India won the toss and chose to field first. After 18.2 overs, Afghanistan had managed to score 112 runs for the loss of 5 wickets. Unfortunately, persistent rain disrupted the match, and the downpour became so heavy that the game had to be abandoned. As a result, India were declared the winner of the gold medal, mainly due to their higher ranking, while Afghanistan had to accept the silver medal.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.