Only 6 players from CWC 2023 squad included as England name ODI & T20I squads for West Indies tour

Saurabh AnandSaurabh Anand
November 12 2023
England Cricket Team in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Jos Buttler has been retained as England’s limited-overs captain.

After a dismal World Cup performance, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) took a harsh decision on a few senior players. ECB has announced their ODI and T20I squads for the upcoming tour of Caribbean Islands consisting 3 ODIs and 5 T20I. England’s next assignment against the West Indies will begin on 3rd December and will conclude on 22nd December. The ECB has made a few big surprising decisions. 

England have dropped most of the World Cup squad members. Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, and Chris Woakes are the key players who got axed following a poor show in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. England couldn’t qualify for the semi-finals and managed to win only 3 league games out of 9 they played. This was one of the most poor performances in the mega event by the defending champions. 

Only 6 players retained in squad

The ECB is looking to move forward into a fresh path as only 6 players from the World Cup 2023 squad have been retained for the tour to West Indies. Liam Livingstone, Harry Brook, Gus Atkinson, Sam Curran, and Brydon Carse are the few names along with captain Jos Buttler who have managed to get their names through and will play the limited overs series against West Indies. England have added young Josh Tongue and John Turner into the squad. 

The ECB in a press release stated, “Six players (Atkinson, Brook, Buttler, Carse, Curran, Livingstone) remain from the squad that represented England at the ICC Men’s 50 Over World Cup in India.” They have also included young leg-spinner Rehan Ahmed in the ODI and T20I squads for the West Indies. Tymal Mills is back in England’s 16-member T20I squad. Reece Topley will also make his comeback after injury in the 5-match T20I series. 

The first ODI between England and West Indies will be played at Sir Vivian Richards International Stadium in Antigua on 3rd December. The second ODI will be played at the same ground on 6th December and the final game of the series will be played at Kensington Oval in Barbados on 9th December. The T20I series will commence on 12th December at Kensington Oval in Barbados. The second and third T20I will be played at Grenada, final two T20I games will be played in Trinidad.

England ODI squad:

Jos Buttler (C. WK), Rehan Ahmed, Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Liam Livingstone, Ollie Pope, Phil Salt, Josh Tongue, John Turner

England T20I squad:

Jos Buttler (C, Wk), Rehan Ahmed, Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Will Jacks, Liam Livingstone, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Josh Tongue, Reece Topley, John Turner, Chris Woakes

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.