ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

England Cricket Team updated squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 announced

Mihir KordeMihir Korde
September 29 2023
England ODI Cricket Team 2023

England will play the first match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 against New Zealand on 5th October.

England cricket team announced their squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 on 17th September. This announcement came with the exclusion of Jason Roy, a vital player from the 2019 World Cup squad, and the inclusion of the young sensation, Harry Brook. Roy’s absence was prompted by back spasms, leading to concerns about his recent form.

The team has shown confidence on Jonny Bairstow and Dawid Malan as openers during the ODI series against New Zealand, providing England’s strategy for the World Cup.

Ben Stokes return to England’s World Cup squad

One of the most noteworthy comebacks in the squad is Ben Stokes, who has returned from ODI retirement to participate in another edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup. Stokes was instrumental in England’s 2019 World Cup triumph, and his inclusion is expected to boost the team’s all-round capabilities.

England’s spin department will be spearheaded by Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid, with the versatile Liam Livingstone providing additional spin options. The 15-member squad is well-rounded and boasts a mix of experienced players and emerging talents.

England haven’t made any changes to their squad and going into the tournament as defending champions and one of the best sides, England will be a threat for other team going in the tournament.

England final squad for World Cup: Jos Buttler (c), Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, David Willey, Reece Topley, Mark Wood, Gus Atkinson.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.