Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score


ICC Champions Trophy 2025 to be played in hybrid model, Dubai front-runner to host the event: Reports

Published at :November 27, 2023 at 05:26 PM
Modified at :November 29, 2023 at 10:14 AM
Post Featured Image

Saurabh Anand

PCB asks for compensation if India refuses to travel to Pakistan for ICC Champions Trophy 2025.

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 is scheduled to be played in Pakistan early in 2025. Pakistan got the opportunity to host an ICC event after a long time. But once again Asia Cup 2023 similar fate is looming large over Champions Trophy. BCCI is not willing to send Indian team to Pakistan. Champions Trophy 2025 is scheduled to begin in February 2025. 

Just like Asia Cup 2023, BCCI and Indian authorities may not send Indian team to play in ICC Champions Trophy 2025 in Pakistan and the tournament might be played in a hybrid model. In a few media reports, Dubai can be the front-runners to host ICC Champions Trophy 2025 in a hybrid model. Dubai may host India games while all the other teams will travel to Pakistan and play the tournament there. 

Asia Cup was also played in hybrid model

Asia Cup 2023 was also played in a hybrid model with Sri Lanka hosting 9 matches along with Pakistan. Sri Lanka hosted the finals of the tournament. Earlier, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) urged International Cricket Council (ICC) to sign Champions Trophy 2025 hosting rights agreement. PCB stated that they should be compensated if India refuses to travel to Pakistan citing political and security reasons for the tournament. 

According to a few sources, ICC is yet to sign the important hosting agreement with it. ICC marked Pakistan as the host of the tournament but the final formalities are yet to be done. PCB officials have met with ICC officials on several occasions including the recent Ahmedabad visit to discuss Champions Trophy tournament in 2025. India refused to travel to Pakistan due to the ongoing political tension and prevailing security reasons.

The top 8 ranked teams in the recently concluded ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 have qualified for ICC Champions Trophy. Sri Lanka will be missing out from the tournament as they finished 9th in the points table. Afghanistan and Bangladesh have also qualified for the tournament along with host Pakistan, India, Australia, New Zealand, England, and South Africa. The previous edition was held in England in 2017 where Pakistan defeated India in the finals. 

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.