IPL 2023

IPL 2023 Updated Points table, Orange cap & Purple cap after Match 55 CSK vs DC

Saurabh Anand

May 11 2023
IPL 2023 Updated Points table, Orange cap & Purple cap after Match 55 CSK vs DC

Chennai Super Kings have almost confirmed their place in the playoff after beating DC by 27 runs.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have continued their good work in the IPL 2023. They have convincingly defeated Delhi Capitals by 27 runs at Chepauk Stadium in Chennai. Delhi Capitals (DC) after chasing 183 against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 17 overs, failed to chase 168 against CSK. Chennai with a good bowling performance from Deepak Chahar and Yorker specialist Matheesha Pathirana have defended their 167 runs total convincingly.

After putting up a good show against RCB, the Capitals batters once again struggled. Deepak Chahar picked up 2 and Matheesha Pathirana picked up 3 wickets. Delhi could only score 140 and lost 8 wickets. This wicket was different and tough to chase. Batting first, Chennai scored 167 with the help of small contributions from their batters. Shivam Dube top scored with 25 runs in 12 balls. In reply, Delhi were 3 down in power play. After that, they failed to put up a big partnership and ended up losing the game at Chepauk. 

IPL 2023 Updated Points Table

Chennai Super Kings have almost confirmed their place in the playoffs after a win over Delhi Capitals. Chennai Super Kings are second in the table with 15 points in the points table. Chennai Super Kings have 7 wins and a draw against Lucknow Super Giants due to rain in their 12 games. CSK are looking stronger this season. Delhi Capitals with another loss are still number 10 in the table.

Delhi Capitals have only 4 wins and 8 points in their 11 games. Gujarat Titans are top of the table with 16 points in 11 games. Chennai are 2nd in the table with 15 points. Mumbai Indians after a resounding win over RCB have jumped up to 3rd place. Lucknow Super Giants are 4th with 11 points.

IPL 2023 Updated Orange cap

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Faf du Plessis is leading the Orange cap race in the IPL 2023. Du Plessis has a 99 runs lead from the number 2 positioned Yashaswi Jaiswal. Faf du Plessis played a great anchor against Mumbai. He scored 65 runs and bettered his lead. Faf is currently the orange cap holder with 576 runs in 11 innings.

Royals opener Yashaswi Jaiswal is 2nd on the list with 477 runs in 11 innings. Gujarat Titans opener Shubhman Gill is 3rd in the race with 469 runs in 11 innings. Devon Conway could only score 10 runs against Delhi Capitals. Conway is 4th on the list with 468 runs. RCB’s opener Virat Kohli is 5th with 420 runs in 11 innings.

IPL 2023 Updated Purple cap

Chennai’s Tushar Deshpande had an opportunity to put the Purple cap on his head but he failed to pick up a wicket against Delhi Capitals. In terms of wickets, Gujarat Titans, Mohammed Shami, Rashid Khan, and Tushar Deshpande are equal. They have 19 wickets each.

With a better economy rate, Mohammed Shami is currently the purple cap holder. His teammate Rashid Khan is 2nd in this race. Chennai’s Tushar Deshpande is 3rd in the table. Mumbai Indian leg spinner Piyush Chawla had a brilliant IPL2023 so far, he is 4th in the purple cap race with 17 wickets in 11 games. Varun Chakravarthy is 5th on the list with 17 wickets.

What’s in IPL on Thursday?

After three back-to-back losses, Rajasthan Royals have travelled to Kolkata to face upbeat Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens. Rajasthan after starting well in the season had lost the momentum in their last 5-6 games. They have won only one game in their last 6 they played. A win against Kolkata Knight Riders is important for Rajasthan. One loss from here will put their campaign for playoffs in trouble. Captain Sanju Samson still has belief in the Royals’ camp to pull off a magical performance.

Kolkata Knight Riders had a wonderful game against Royal Challengers Bangalore. Rinku Singh had emerged as one of the best finishers in the IPL 2023. KKR’s chances for playoff look grim yet they can still manage to make it on Top 4 if they win all of their remaining games. 

Khel Now Logo
© 2023
Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.