Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

IPL 2024: Sunrisers Hyderabad name Pat Cummins as new captain

Published at :March 4, 2024 at 12:34 PM
Modified at :March 4, 2024 at 12:34 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Twitter)

Utkarsh Rathour


Pat Cummins replaces Aiden Markram as the new skipper of Sunrisers Hyderabad ahead of IPL 2024.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) appointed Australian World Cup winner and pace bowling superstar Pat Cummins as the new captain of the franchise for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season, the team management confirmed on Monday.

Aiden Markram was the SRH skipper in IPL 2023 but his side couldn’t perform well. In IPL 2023, SRH finished in last position with only four wins from 14 matches and couldn’t qualify for the playoffs.

However, Markram was appointed after the Sunrisers franchise won the inaugural edition of the SA20 league. It is to be noted that the Aiden Markram-led Sunrisers defended their title this year also in the SA20 tournament. It was expected that after winning back-to-back titles in the SA20 league, the SRH franchise might stick with him in the cash-rich league.

Cummins, a proven leader and a world champion cricketer takes over the reins from Aiden Markram, who led the Orange Army in IPL 2023. The Australian star’s leadership was on full display as he captained his national team to a historic victory in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 against India. His aggressive bowling style, coupled with his tactical acumen make him a strong choice for the captaincy.

The Hyderabad-based franchise secured Australian skipper Pat Cummins for a whopping amount of INR 20.5 crores after winning the bidding war with Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL 2024 mini-auction. However, Cummins’ IPL career does not justify his ability as a player.

The right-arm fast bowler has played 42 matches so far picking 45 wickets at an economy of 8.54. Cummins has amassed 379 runs after smashing three half-centuries till now in his IPL career. The Australian’s first challenge will be against his former team, the Kolkata Knight Riders, as both teams will start their IPL 2024 campaign at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on March 23.

SRH squad for IPL 2024:

Pat Cummins (C), Aiden Markram, Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Heinrich Klaasen, Glenn Phillips, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik, Anmolpreet Singh, Shahbaz Ahmed, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Marco Jansen, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Upendra Yadav, Sanvir Singh, Mayank Markande, Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhathavedh Subramanyan

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.



•WWE News


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.