Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

India's tour of Ireland 2023

Breaking News: Jasprit Bumrah named captain as BCCI announces India squad for Ireland T20Is

Published at :August 1, 2023 at 2:06 AM
Modified at :August 17, 2023 at 7:15 PM
Post Featured Image

Saurabh Anand


Ruturaj Gaikwad has been named Jasprit Bumrah's deputy in India squad for Ireland T20Is.

In a massive development, It has been announced by the BCCI that pacer Jasprit Bumrah will be making his entry back in the field against Ireland in a three-match T20I series. Jasprit Bumrah will also lead the Indian side against Ireland. India’s tour of Ireland will begin on 18th August when both teams will face off against each other in the first T20I at The Village ground in Malahide.

Jasprit Bumrah will make a comeback after 11 months in Cricket, he last played a game in September 2022 against Australia. After that, he went through multiple treatments and surgery in March. 

Big names in T20 rested for Ireland tour

Ruturaj Gaikwad, who has been named the man to lead India squad at the Asian Games, has been named as Jasprit Bumrah’s deputy for the 3-match T20I series against Ireland. India's T20I captain in recent times, Hardik Pandya has been rested for the tour along with the likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, and Yuzvendra Chahal.

This tells that in a good move, selectors under Ajit Agarkar are looking to create a strong bench in T20 cricket now. Most of the squad members have found their place backing up their Indian Premier League performance in the last one or two seasons. 

Rinku Singh included in 15-member squad

Missing out on the West Indies tour, Kolkata Knight Riders superstar finisher Rinku Singh has finally got a reward for his good work in the IPL 2023. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad have been picked as openers, while Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Sanju Samson, Jitesh Sharma, and Shivam Dube have been picked as strong middle-order options. All these names dazzled the Indian Premier League stage for their franchise with hard work and played magnificent knocks to prove themselves as match winners. 

Selectors give preference to all-rounders

Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Ravi Bishnoi are three spinners in the team while Prasidh Krishna will be making his comeback after one year gap. Krishna was also out of the action due to a back injury. He will accompany Mukesh Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Avesh Khan in the team.

Selectors have focused on picking all-rounders more than players who can only bat or who can only bowl. In a 15-member squad 4 all-rounders have been given an opportunity. The Ireland series will be a big opportunity for youngsters. 

India squad for Ireland T20Is:

Jasprit Bumrah ©, Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan