UPT20: Kartik Tyagi becomes first player to pick up a hat-trick in Uttar Pradesh T20 League

Saurabh AnandSaurabh Anand

September 7 2023
Kartik Tyagi

Kartik Tyagi plays for Meerut Mavericks in UPT20 league.

Kanpur’s Green Park witnessed one of the finest T20 performances in the country with the ongoing UPT20. The inaugural season of the Uttar Pradesh T20 is lit up with fireworks, with several close games and magnificent performances. Meerut Mavericks pacer Kartik Tyagi has become the first player in the league to take a hat-trick in the league. Earlier, Rinku Singh also had a magical performance for Meerut Mavericks in UPT20.

Kartik Tyagi struck three-in-three to become the first player in UPT20 to take a hat-trick. In a clash between Meerut Mavericks and Lucknow Falcons, Kartik Tyagi got his hat-trick in the final over of the game. Meerut was already in a comfortable position, with Lucknow needing almost an impossible target to chase in the final over. Tyagi got Yash Dayal, Kartikeya Jaiswal, and Vikrant Chaudhary to complete his hat-trick.

Kartik Tyagi started his opening spell with a wicket when he got Harsh Tyagi in his first over to give Lucknow their first dent in the 192-runs chase. This opened up the opportunity for Meerut Mavericks bowlers to take control of the game. Kartik then got Yash Dayal, Kartikey Jaiswal, and Vikrant Chaudhary to finish up the game and give Meerut their 3rd win out of 5 games in UPT20 league.

Batting first, Meerut Mavericks scored 191 runs in their 20 overs. Swastik Chikara (56) smashed a half-century to give Meerut a strong start, along with captain Madhav Kaushik (47) who added 98 runs in 61 balls for the second wicket. Star attraction Rinku Singh could only manage to score 12 runs in 10 balls. With the top order’s batting performance, Meerut posted a decent total on board and didn’t allow Lucknow any time to control the game.

Noida Super Kings are currently the table-toppers with 8 points in 5 games. Noida has won four games in the league. Meerut Mavericks are placed second in the table with 6 points in 5 games with 3 wins. Lucknow Falcons are in 3rd place with 6 points in 5 games. Gorakhpur Lions are at the bottom of the table with only one win and two points in five games. The finals of the tournament will be played on September 16 at Green Park Stadium.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on Telegram.