ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

List of centuries in ICC Cricket World Cup Finals

Karan RawatKaran Rawat
November 19 2023
List of centuries in ICC Cricket World Cup Final

Travis Head becomes seventh batter to score hundred in ICC Cricket World Cup finals.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the biggest tournament in the game of cricket. The first edition took place in 1975, with West Indies winning the first two editions. Australia are the most successful team in history with six titles and are the new champions, beating India in the finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

Travis Head was the player of the match in IND vs AUS final for his brilliant hundred. He became only the seventh batter to score a hundred in the finals of the World Cup. And in this article, we will talk about all the batters that have scored centuries in ICC Cricket World Cup finals.

List of batters with centuries in ICC Cricket World Cup Finals

1. Clive Lloyd (102) vs Australia in 1975

Clive Lloyd
Clive Lloyd. (Image Source: Getty Images)

Clive Lloyd led West Indies to back-to-back wins in the first two editions of the ICC Cricket World Cups. In fact, he also won man of the match in the final of the inaugural edition. Lloyd made 102 off 85 balls, with 12 fours and two sixes against Australia in the 1975 final at Lord’s, and West Indies scored 291/8. West Indies won that game by 17 runs.

2. Viv Richards (138*) vs England in 1979

Viv Richards
Viv Richards (Image Source: Getty Images)

In 1979, West Indies won their second ICC Cricket World Cup title, beating England in the final at Lord’s. And it was Viv Richards who smashed a brilliant ton in the final and won the man of the match award. He scored an unbeaten 138, including 11 fours and three sixes. West Indies made 286/9 and won the game by 92 runs to lift their second successive title.

3. Aravinda de Silva (107*) vs Australia in 1996

Aravinda de Silva
Aravinda de Silva. (Image Source: Getty Images)

Sri Lanka won their maiden ICC Cricket World Cup title in 1996, beating Australia in the final in Lahore. Australia batted first and made 241/7, which was never easy to chase. But Aravinda de Silva smashed a brilliant ton and made an unbeaten 107 off 124, with 13 boundaries. His unbeaten ton took Sri Lanka to 245/3, and Sri Lanka won by seven wickets.

4. Ricky Ponting (140*) vs India in 2003

Ricky Ponting
Ricky Ponting. (Image Source: Twitter)

As a captain, Ricky Ponting led Australia to the 2003 World Cup title, beating India in the final in Johannesburg. Batting first, Australia posted the highest-ever total (359/2) in a World Cup final, courtesy of an incredible ton by the skipper. Ponting scored an unbeaten 140 off 123, with four boundaries and eight sixes, and won man of the match. Australia won that game by 125 runs.

5. Adam Gilchrist (149) vs Sri Lanka in 2007

Adam Gilchrist
Adam Gilchrist. (Image Source: CA)

The highest score by a batter in an ICC Cricket World Cup final was registered by Adam Gilchrist. He scored 149 off 104 balls, including 13 fours and eight sixes. Australia made 281/4 in 38 overs, which was a rain-hit game. Sri Lanka, in reply, managed 215/8, and Australia won their fourth title. Gilchrist won player of the match in the final.

6. Mahela Jayawardene (103) vs India in 2011

Mahela Jayawardene
Mahela Jayawardene (Image Source: Getty Images)

Out of seven centuries, only one hundred has come in a losing cause. It came in the finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 between India and Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium. Mahela Jayawardene scored 103 not out from 88 balls, and Sri Lanka made a challenging score of 274/6. But India scored 277/4 in reply and won the game. MS Dhoni scored 91 not out from 79 balls and India won that game.

7. Travis Head (137) vs India in 2023

Travis Head
Travis Head. (Image Source: ICC)

Australia registered their sixth World Cup win in the 2023 edition, beating India in the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. India scored 240 runs after being put to bat first, but Travis Head single-handedly took Australia to victory. He scored 137 off 120 balls, with 15 fours and four sixes, to take Australia home and became the seventh batter to score a century in ICC Cricket World Cup finals.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.