IPL 2023

Longest sixes in IPL History

Aayushman Vishwanathan

May 5 2023
Longest sixes in IPL History

Former CSK all-rounder Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting the longest six in the history of IPL

If it’s T20 cricket, sixes are the norm and IPL has seen some of the most glorious ones ever. There might hardly be a batter in IPL history who hasn’t struck a six or any bowler who hasn’t conceded one in their career.

However, when it comes to sixes, viewers mostly have their eyes on the distance of sixes and where the ball lands. Over the years, several players have hit enormous sixes and as a result, have gained widespread recognition.

Let’s take a look at the top 7 players who have hit the Longest sixes in IPL history:

7) Chris Gayle – 119 meters

Chris Gayle 119m Six. (Image Source: JioCinema/ScreenGrab)

Veteran West Indian batter Chris Gayle is arguably amongst the hardest hitters of the cricket ball and one of the most consistent overseas batters in IPL history. The southpaw has the most sixes in IPL history and holds the record for the highest individual score in the tournament history.

With a 119-m six, Gayle, a two-time Orange Cap winner is seventh on the list. The enormous six came against Pune Warriors’ left-arm spinner Ali Murtaza and during his historic 175. His 175 propelled the Royal Challengers Bangalore to 263 and eventually to a 130-run win. The Jamaican’s final IPL edition was two years ago and plied his trade for the Punjab Kings. In 142 matches, the veteran has 4965 runs at 39.72 with six centuries.

6) Yuvraj Singh – 119 meters

Yuvraj Singh 119m Six. (Image Source: JioCinema/ScreenGrab)

Yuvraj Singh is one of the stylish batters to grace the game and played an instrumental role in India’s 50-over and 20-over World Cup win. He was also an effective spinner and a gun fielder. The 41-year-old might not have had a successful IPL career despite featuring for multiple franchises; however, he has one of the longest sixes in history.

The stylish southpaw struck a 119-m six in the second season of the IPL, held in South Africa against Chennai Super Kings’ Albie Morkel. The Chandigarh-born cricketer was once also the costliest player in the IPL auction, fetching INR 16 crores from the Delhi Capitals. The former Kings XI Punjab and Pune Warriors captain played his final edition in 2019.

5) Ross Taylor – 119 meters

Ross Taylor 119m Six. (Image Source: JioCinema/ScreenGrab)

Ross Taylor played an instrumental part during the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s IPL 2009 campaign that made it to the final. He scored 280 runs in 11 matches that year, striking at 134.62, playing some important knocks along the way.

The former New Zealand skipper had also hit a 119-m six and did as part of RCB against Chennai Super Kings’ Jacob Oram, who gave him a length delivery. However, Taylor did not enjoy a long IPL career, playing his final edition in 2015 and retired from international cricket last year.

4) Robin Uthappa – 120 meters

Robin Uthappa 120m Six. (Image Source: JioCinema/ScreenGrab)

Robin Uthappa is one of the most successful IPL cricketers and has plied his trade for multiple franchises. With over 600 runs in IPL 2014, the right-hander played an instrumental role in Kolkata Knight Riders’ win that year and won the Orange Cap. The 2007 T20 World Cup squad member hit a 120-meter six when he was part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Mumbai Indians all-rounder Dwayne Bravo.

Uthappa last played in the cash-rich league in 2021 for the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) when they lifted the title. He now works as a commentator in IPL.

3) Adam Gilchrist – 122 meters

Adam Gilchrist 122m Six. (Image Source: JioCinema/ScreenGrab)

Former Australia keeper-batter Adam Gilchrist had an epic IPL career and is one of the few overseas captains to win the IPL trophy. The 2009 edition also saw Gilchrist win the Player of the Tournament award. While the Australian won the title for the Deccan Chargers, he hit an enormous 122-meter six during his stint with the Kings XI Punjab against Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Charl Langeveldt.

The left-hander, who captained Punjab that year, smacked 122 off 106 deliveries and added 206 with Shaun Marsh to carry his side to 232. It helped Punjab to a massive 111-run win. The 51-year-old featured in his last edition in 2013.

2) Praveen Kumar – 124 meters

Praveen Kumar 124m Six. (Image Source: JioCinema/ScreenGrab)

Praveen Kumar is probably the unlikeliest name in this list; however, he boasts of a longer six than Gilchrist, sending it 124 meters over the fence. Nevertheless, for a lower-order batter, the 36-year-old struck at 108.28. Kumar achieved the feat against Rajasthan Royals’ off-spinner Yusuf Pathan while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The former right-arm played for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, SunRisers Hyderabad, and the Gujarat Lions and last played in 2017.

1) Albie Morkel – 125 meters

Albie Morkel 125m Six. (Image Source: JioCinema/ScreenGrab)

Albie Morkel has always proved himself as an unsung hero for the Chennai Super Kings, playing an instrumental role in their title victories in 2010 and 2011. The South African all-rounder joined the Yellow Army in 2008.

He was the highest wicket-taker for the Super Kings that season, taking 17 scalps in 13 matches. He was an equally explosive batter and sent the ball 125 meters over the fence during the inaugural season against the Deccan Chargers off left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha. The 41-year-old last played in IPL in 2016.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on Telegram.

posted in :

Khel Now Logo
© 2023
Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.