ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Michael Vaughan leaves out Australia as he predicts 4 semi-finalists of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Saurabh AnandSaurabh Anand
October 3 2023
Michael Vaughan, ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Michael Vaughan has predicted the four semi-finalists of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 in India is just a few days away from now. With huge anticipation building up around the mega event in India, teams have started charting out their plan for their campaign. The curtain raiser will be played between defending champions England and New Zealand in Ahmedabad on 5th October. Fans are expecting this game to be exciting just like these two teams played in the 2019 Final.

This World Cup is probably the first major event in cricket where no team will enter as a clear favourite to lift the title. The lack of ODI games have brought everyone to a similar level with all 10 teams expected to play exciting cricket in the tournament. Former English skipper Michael Vaughan has also picked his predicted top 4 teams to play in the semi-finals. Vaughan has skipped Australia’s name from his top 4 choices. 

Vaughan predicts his Top 4

Former English skipper Michael Vaughan put out a tweet as his prediction and included Pakistan, South Africa, India, and England as his choices for the team to qualify for the semi-finals in the World Cup 2023. Vaughan tweeted, “Can’t wait for the World Cup to start this week. My 4 semi-finalists will be… England, South Africa, India, and Pakistan.” South Africa and Pakistan failed to qualify for the semi-final round in the 2019 edition. 

Australia are also among the favourites to qualify for the semi-finals as they have got a balanced squad with players having a great amount of experience playing on the Indian wicket. In the 2011 edition played in Sub-continent conditions, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and New Zealand played in the semi-finals, where India went on to lift the championship after defeating Sri Lanka in the final at Wankhede Stadium. 

In the last three editions of the World Cup tournament, hosts have used the home conditions to full advantage and were crowned champions. India in 2011, Australia in 2015, and England in 2019 became champions. Considering the same trend, most of the cricket experts are weighing India above everyone in the World Cup 2023. India will commence their World Cup campaign on 8th October against Australia. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.