ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Watch: Ravindra Jadeja flies at backward point to take a stunning catch of Mushfiqur Rahim


October 19 2023
Watch: Ravindra Jadeja flies at backward point to take a stunning catch of Mushfiqur Rahim

Bangladesh faltered after choosing to bat first despite openers adding 93 runs for the first wicket.

India fielder Ravindra Jadeja was on fire during his team’s ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 match against Bangladesh which is being played at MCA Stadium in Pune on October 19, 2023.

After winning the toss, Bangladesh decided to bat first. Due to a quad injury, Shakib Al Hasan was unable to play, and Najmul Hossain Shanto led the team in his place. India were unaltered going into this game.

As they settled into a batting-friendly wicket, openers Tanzid Hasan and Litton Das became more confident. But soon after, the openers took over as they scored 93 runs in 14.1 overs. Litton Das scored 66 runs, while Tanzid Hasan finished with 51.

But after their dismissals, Bangladesh lost a couple of quick wickets as well. Then, despite Mehidy Hasan scoring three runs and Najmul Shanto scoring eight, Bangladesh kept losing wickets. Additionally, Towhid Hridoy fell after scoring 16 runs. Mushfiqur Rahim, a seasoned player, was their last chance to score big.

Ravindra Jadeja’s stunning catch at backward point ends Mushfiqur Rahim’s charge

The right-handed keeper-batter Mushfiqur Rahim was putting himself in position for a big finish. After hitting one four and one six in 38 runs innings, Rahim made the decision to pick up speed. But he gave this acceleration another go against India’s Jasprit Bumrah.

Bumrah bowled a slower delivery on the off-stump in the 43rd over. Scything the ball over backward point was the batter’s attempt. He smashes it rather hard, but there’s no lift. The person positioned there, Ravindra Jadeja, dove to his right to make an excellent catch.

After he finished the catch, he turned towards India fielding coach T Dilip and gestured to him that now he should get the best fielder medal. T Dilip began giving the best fielder medal from game one of the World Cup onwards and Virat Kohli, Shardul Thakur, and KL Rahul have won it thus far in the first three matches.

Watch the video here:

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.