India vs Australia 2023

IND vs AUS: Shubman Gill breaks Shikhar Dhawan’s ODI record with century in 2nd ODI


September 24 2023
Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill smashed 104 runs scoring his 6th ODI century for India.

India batter Shubman Gill was on fire as he hammered a ton in the ongoing second ODI between India and Australia being played at the Holkar Stadium in Indore on September 24, 2023. India have a 1-0 series advantage after winning the opening ODI on September 22 in Mohali.

India was put into bat first as Australia’s stand-in captain Steve Smith won the toss and chose to bowl first. Smith led Australia as Pat Cummins was rested from the side. Spencer Johnson made his Australian debut. India brought in Prasidh Krishna to replace Jasprit Bumrah, who flew back home to be with his family.

Josh Hazlewood sent out Ruturaj Gaikwad for eight runs. But shortly after, Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill teamed up and began to fully control Australian bowling. The two quickly amassed 200 runs for the second wicket because the Australian bowlers were helpless to stave off their onslaught.

Shreyas Iyer was out for 105 runs, his third century in one-day internationals and his first since re-joining Indian team following his back injury and surgery.

Shubman Gill breaks the record of Shikhar Dhawan with his scintillating century in Indore

Being out in an easy chase when Shubman Gill was at his best could have cost him the chance to record a century in Mohali. He scored 50 on 37 balls and continued the assault while completely overpowering Australian bowlers.

In just 92 balls, Gill hit his sixth ODI century and appeared to be headed for a massive score. He was out for 104 runs, but he lost in his attempt to boost the ante.

During his knock, Shubman Gill became the fastest Indian to reach six centuries in ODIs in terms of innings. He broke the record of Shikhar Dhawan, who had hit his first six ODI centuries in 46 innings.

Here is the list of fastest Indian batters to reach 6 ODI tons in terms of innings:

Shubman Gill – 35 Innings

Shikhar Dhawan – 46 Innings

KL Rahul- 53 Innings

Virat Kohli – 61 Innings

Gautam Gambhir – 68 Innings

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.