India vs Australia 2023

Shubman Gill surpasses Sachin Tendulkar’s record for most 50+ ODI scores among Indian openers

Sagar PaulSagar Paul

September 23 2023
Shubman Gill and Sachin Tendulkar

Shubman Gill has broken Sachin Tendulkar’s record for for most 50+ODI scores among Indian openers

Shubman Gill played a stellar role at the top, contributing 74 runs as India secured an impressive five-wickets victory over Australia in the first match of their three-game ODI series. Gill, alongside his new opening partner Ruturaj Gaikwad, formed a formidable partnership of 142 runs, which established a solid foundation for India’s convincing victory in the early stages of their run chase.

During his innings, Gill notched up his 9th ODI half-century, accomplishing an extraordinary feat in Indian ODI cricket.

Shubman Gill surpasses legendary Indian Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar.

Shubman Gill entered the international cricket scene when he debuted in a series against New Zealand in January 2019. Since then, he has played in 34 ODI matches for team India, and notably, he has been the team’s designated opener in an impressive 30 of those matches.

In his most recent game against Australia in Mohali, Gill once again demonstrated his cricketing abilities by achieving his 14th score of fifty runs or more in the ODI format. What makes this feat truly outstanding is that out of these 14 significant scores, Gill managed to achieve 13 of them as India’s opening batsman.

This achievement now solidifies Shubman Gill’s position as the record holder in a unique category among Indian cricketers. He surpassed the legendary Sachin Tendulkar, who had managed 12 fifty-plus scores in his first 30 innings as an opener. The next in line, following Gill on this list, are Shikhar Dhawan and the current team captain, Rohit Sharma, both of whom have recorded 10 fifty-plus scores each in their initial 30 innings as openers for team India.

Indian openers with 50+ Scores in their first 30 Matches

Shubman Gill – 13 innings

Sachin Tendulkar – 12 innings

Shikhar Dhawan – 10 innings

Rohit Sharma – 10 innings

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.