Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

Sunrisers Hyderabad announce James Franklin as bowling coach ahead of IPL 2024

Published at :March 4, 2024 at 5:24 PM
Modified at :March 4, 2024 at 5:24 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Twitter)

Utkarsh Rathour


James Franklin replaces Dale Steyn as Sunrisers Hyderabad bowling coach.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) franchise has bolstered their coaching staff for the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with the appointment of former New Zealand all-rounder James Franklin as their new bowling coach. This appointment comes after legendary Dale Steyn who held the position for the 2023 season, requested a break from the IPL due to personal reasons.

The former New Zealand all-rounder James Franklin has represented the Black Caps in 31 tests, 110 ODIs & 30 T20 internationals during his playing career. Franklin has coaching experience with Durham in England and in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) as assistant coach of Islamabad United.

“Dale Steyn will not be joining us this season due to personal reasons and James Franklin will be the Pace Bowling Coach for this season. Welcome on board, James!” SRH wrote on social media platform X.

The former all-rounder played for five-time champions Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 2011 and 2012 seasons of the cash-rich league. It is to be noted that Franklin will have his maiden stint as a coach in the IPL this time.

At Sunrisers Hyderabad, Franklin will coach along with his former New Zealand teammate Daniel Vettori, who was appointed as the team’s head coach after the IPL 2023 season. The Franklin-Vettori duo has worked at Middlesex before. The duo has also worked with the Birmingham Phoenix franchise in The Hundred.

Australian pacer Pat Cummins to lead Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2024

Earlier on Monday, the Hyderabad-based franchise announced that the ODI World Cup 2023 winning skipper Pat Cummins will take the leadership role from South Africa’s Aiden Markram. In Markram’s leadership SRH ended at the bottom of the IPL 2023 points table.

Sunrisers Hyderabad will start their IPL 2024 campaign against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at Eden Gardens on March 23. SRH will play their first home game against five-time champions Mumbai Indians on March 27.

SRH squad for IPL 2024:

Pat Cummins (C), Aiden Markram, Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Heinrich Klaasen, Glenn Phillips, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik, Anmolpreet Singh, Shahbaz Ahmed, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Marco Jansen, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Upendra Yadav, Sanvir Singh, Mayank Markande, Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhathavedh Subramanyan

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.