IPL 2023

Virat Kohli equals Chris Gayle’s record of most centuries in IPL

Sagar Paul

May 19 2023
Virat Kohli equals Chris Gayle's record of most centuries in IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore opener Virat Kohli registered his 6th IPL century against SRH in the IPL 2023.

Virat Kohli matched Chris Gayle’s record for most centuries in IPL history with a stunning ton against SRH. RCB won by eight wickets, bringing them closer to the playoffs. Kohli’s sublime knock, starting from the first ball, showcased his mastery. Opening with Faf du Plessis, Virat Kohli and Faf dominated SRH, scoring 172 runs for the first wicket. Kohli reached his hundred in just 62 balls, including 12 fours and four sixes, with a strike rate of 158.73.

Kohli scored 4 centuries in 2016 and 1 in 2019 before smashing his 6th in IPL 2023

Despite RCB’s loss to Gujarat Lions in IPL 2016, Kohli’s unbeaten century was exceptional. He scored 100 off 63 balls, showcasing his mastery with 8 fours and 7 sixes. Although Gujarat Lions chased down RCB’s total of 180, Kohli’s innings earned him the Player of the Match award.

Chasing a target of 192 against Rising Pune Supergiants in IPL 2016, Kohli’s unbeaten 108 off 55 balls guided RCB to a resounding victory. Opening with KL Rahul, they formed a strong partnership of 94 runs, resulting in a win in the 19th over.

Also in IPL 2016, Kohli and AB de Villiers set a record-breaking partnership against Gujarat Lions. Kohli scored 109 off 55 balls, while de Villiers smashed 129 off 52 balls. Their stand of 229 runs helped RCB reach a total of 248, leading to a massive 144-run win.

In IPL 2016, Kohli scored a magnificent 113 off 50 balls against KXIP, leading RCB to an 82-run victory. Despite an injury requiring nine stitches on his hand just days earlier, Kohli became the first batsman to score over 800 runs in a single season.

Kohli’s most recent IPL century was against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2019. He scored a fluent 100 off 58 balls, accompanied by Moeen Ali’s explosive 66 off 28 balls. Their partnership propelled RCB to a challenging total of 213, leading to a 10-run victory.

Chris Gayle has also hit 6 centuries in IPL

In his first game for RCB against his former team KKR in 2011, Gayle smashed an unbeaten 102 off 55 balls, helping RCB chase down 172 with 11 balls to spare. In the same season, he scored 107 against Punjab. Gayle continued his impressive form in IPL 2012 with an unbeaten 128 against Delhi Daredevils, followed by his record-breaking knock of 175* against Pune Warriors India in IPL 2013. His fifth IPL century came against Punjab in IPL 2015, scoring 117. After spending seven seasons with RCB, Gayle moved to Punjab in IPL 2018 and made an impact with a blistering 104* off 63 balls against SRH, including 11 sixes and just one boundary.

Now Virat Kohli has equaled the record and scored his 6th IPL century.

Batsmen with most centuries in IPL:

Virat Kohli – 6

Chris Gayle – 6

Jos Buttler – 5

KL Rahul – 4

Shane Watson – 4

David Warner – 4

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on Telegram.

Khel Now Logo
© 2023
Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.