Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

India vs Australia 2023

Who is India's vice-captain in IND vs AUS 5th T20I in Bengaluru? It's not Ruturaj Gaikwad

Published at :December 3, 2023 at 7:24 PM
Modified at :January 14, 2024 at 12:11 AM
Post Featured Image

Mihir Korde

5th T20I between India and Australia is underway at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Australia have won the toss and elected to field first at Bengaluru’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium for the 5th T20I between India and Australia. India have already won the series and would want to make it 4-1. India made one change in their playing XI, with Arshdeep Singh replacing Deepak Chahar.

However, there was a change in India’s vice captaincy, a role previously shouldered by Ruturaj Gaikwad in the preceding four T20Is.

Ruturaj Gaikwad not the vice-captain for 5th T20I

Contrary to expectations, Ruturaj Gaikwad, who had been the vice-captain in the previous encounters, found himself playing a different role in Bengaluru. The vice-captain baton had been passed to Shreyas Iyer for the crucial 5th T20I. This development raised eyebrows, especially considering the pre-series announcement that Iyer would take up role of the vice-captain role from the 4th T20I onwards.

It’s worth noting that the initial plan was for Shreyas Iyer to join the team from the 4th T20I and take on the vice captaincy duties. However, Gaikwad was given the responsibilities as he is one of the future leaders that India are backing on.

In the final T20I in Bengaluru saw Shreyas Iyer donning the vice-captain’s cap, signalling a strategic decision by the team management.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.