The historic fixture has seen many memorable games throughout history in terms of the number of goals.

The second Kolkata Derby of ISL 2022-23 is just around the corner. In the penultimate game of the league season, the arch-rivals of Kolkata will go toe-to-toe at the Salt Lake Stadium. It is going to be both the teams’ last league game of the season. Both teams, thus, will go all-out for getting the bragging rights.

Prior to the game, we will take a look at the highest-scoring Kolkata Derbies in Indian football history.

4. East Bengal 4 – 1 Mohun Bagan, 1997

East Bengal and Mohun Bagan met in a high-voltage Federation Cup semi-final game at the Salt Lake Stadium in 1997. The game holds the record of having the highest stadium attendance in any sport in India. Around 1,31,000 people attended the game in Kolkata.

East Bengal side which defeated Mohun Bagan 4-1 in the famous Diamon Demolition Derby. (Courtesy: EB Club)

East Bengal humbled their arch-rivals by a margin of 4-1. Bhaichung Bhutia scored a hat-trick, the first in the Kolkata Derby’s history, while the other goal was scored by Nazim-ul-Haque. Chima Okorie scored the consolation goal for Mohun Bagan.

3. East Bengal 5 – 0 Mohun Bagan, 1975

Perhaps the most significant result in the history of the Kolkata Derby was the 1975 thumping of Mohun Bagan by East Bengal in a 5-0 win. It was the year’s IFA Shield final, then a premier knockout tournament with a huge following in Kolkata.

Surajit Sengupta, Shyam Thapa, Ranjit Mukherjee, and Subhankar Sanyal were on the scoresheet for East Bengal. Thapa missed a penalty but scored a brace in the game. It is still the largest-margin victory in the Kolkata Derby and a crown of thorns for passionate Green and Maroon supporters.

2. Mohun Bagan 4 – 3 East Bengal, 2007

Mohun Bagan and East Bengal met each other in the first leg of the 2007-08 season of the Calcutta Football League. Back then, both teams used to field their first-team squad in the tournament. It was an enthralling game of football in which PC Lalawmpuia, Jose Ramirez Barreto, and S. Venkatesh put the Green-and-Maroons 3-0 up inside the first half.

East Bengal made a fightback in the second half through a brace from Alvito D’Cunha. Venkatesh scored the next goal for Mohun Bagan while Edmilson of East Bengal scored a consolation penalty goal toward the end of the game.

1. Mohun Bagan 5 – 3 East Bengal, 2009

Mohun Bagan side which netted five goals against East Bengal in the I-League 2009-10 season. (Courtesy: Facebook)

In the first leg of the 2009-10 I-League season, East Bengal and Mohun Bagan met in a high-scoring fixture. It was a battle between two beleaguered teams, desperate for three points to bolster their dwindling fortunes in the I-League. Eventually, the game turned out to be a thrilling encounter.

Mohun Bagan’s Nigerian forward Edeh Chidih scored four times on that day, while the other goal was scored by Manish Mathani. For East Bengal, veteran striker Yusuf Yakubu scored a brace while the remaining goal was scored by Nirmal Chhetri.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and join our community on Telegram.