Premier League

Premier League 2022-23: All Award winners

Rajarshi ShuklaRajarshi Shukla

May 29 2023
Premier League 2022-23: All Award winners

Manchester clubs have dominated the list

After the last day on Saturday, when all games were played at the same time, the Premier League season has come to a conclusion. As Leicester City, Southampton, and Leeds United were relegated, the fans experienced a wide range of emotions throughout every game.

While Chelsea had one of their worst seasons ever under their new owner, despite spending £600 million on players in the transfer market, Manchester City won the Premier League for the third time in a row.

The new signing for City Haaland dominated the league by shattering numerous records, while Harry Kane had an outstanding season on his own, scoring 30 goals and placing second on the all-time scoring list. Despite scoring so many goals, he fails to grab any individual awards. We now look at the award winners in various categories.

Premier League winner: Manchester City

After losing 0-1 to Nottingham Forest, Arsenal saw their title charge slip from their hands as Manchester City were declared the English Premier League winner for the third consecutive season. Manchester City had to make a comeback and overall won 28 matches. They played five draws and suffered five losses. Pep’s team had the best attack in the division and the joint-best defensive record.

The attack led by Erling Haaland scored 94 goals. Their defence conceded 33 in total. The team from Manchester were on a 16-match unbeaten run. This run was crucial to City’s title chase but ended on the final day of the competition. Manchester City have already won their fifth league title under Pep Guardiola and their ninth overall. 

Top scorer of the season: Erling Haaland

Following Manchester City’s defeat by Brentford on the last day of the season, Erling Haaland was formally given the Golden Boot accolade for his record-breaking Premier League campaign. The attacker from Norway has blown away many during what is thought by many to be the strongest competition in football, scoring 36 goals in the league alone. This is the all-time record in the Premier League.

The 22-year-old played 35 matches and averaged more than a goal per game. He scored four hattricks in the entire season. In his first-ever Manchester derby, Haaland scored a hattrick and took away three points from Manchester United. Overall, Haaland has scored 52 goals in 51 league games for City.

Premier League Player of the Season: Erling Haaland

There aren’t many players who are foolish enough to sponge through their careers, confident that any club in the world will sign them whenever they’re kind enough to think they’re deserving. Erling Haaland, a goal monster made in a lab and sent from the future to demolish the present, is one. 

The statistics speak for themselves: four hat tricks and 36 goals speak volumes. Football is about feelings, not numbers, and what makes Haaland unique is the fear he instils in usually aggressive defenders as well as the joyous abandon that results from it. He is simultaneously apologetic and vicious; he knows it’s unfair. 

Playmaker of the season: Kevin De Bruyne

Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City Premier League
With 16 assists, De Bruyne records the most in a Premier League 2022-23 season

The 2022–23 Castrol Playmaker of the Season honour goes to Kevin De Bruyne. With 16 assists overall, De Bruyne records the most in a Premier League season for the third time in his professional career. He was also the recipient in 2017–18 and 2019–20. The 31-year-old provided nine assists before the international break.

In a campaign where he became just the sixth player in the history of the Premier League to accumulate a century of contributions, the Manchester City midfielder did so at a time that was a record. He assisted on four more goals than any other player. De Bruyne also added seven goals in City’s title run.

Goalkeeper of the season: David de Gea

David De Gea received the Golden Glove award for his exceptional efforts in the net during the 2022–23 Premier League season. He established himself as United’s best custodian by keeping the most clean sheets.

In the season’s last game, where Erik ten Hag’s powerful team defeated Fulham by a score of 2-1, the goalkeeper from Madrid earned the Golden Glove award for his efforts. His 17 clean sheets in the competition were crucial for Manchester United. They finished third in the league table. The Spaniard also made 101 in 38 league appearances for the Red Devils this season.

“The golden glove is not just about me – we have been solid this season,” claimed de Gea, 32, after their 1-0 win over Bournemouth on last Saturday.

Save of the season: Kepa Arrizabalaga

The Premier League’s Castrol Save of the Season is Kepa Arrizabalaga’s spectacular stop vs Aston Villa in October.

The Spanish custodian defeated some difficult opponents to receive the renowned prize for his outstanding effort to stop Jacob Ramsey in a match we were to go on to prevail in 2-0 at Villa Park thanks to a brace from Mason Mount.

After first blocking John McGinn’s opening shot, Kepa made a fantastic reflex save to prevent the Villa midfielder. He dove down to the right to redirect the ball wide.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.