Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

Indian Women's Football

Who did Ashalata Devi vote for in FIFA's official award ceremony?

Published at :January 17, 2024 at 5:37 PM
Modified at :January 17, 2024 at 5:37 PM
Post Featured Image

Dipro Mukherjee

Aitana Bonmati, the 25-year-old Spanish midfielder was honoured as The Best FIFA Women’s Player this time.

The ninth edition of the Best FIFA Football Awards 2024 was held in London. During the ceremony, coaches and players from both men’s and women’s football were elected for their extraordinary performances in the year gone by.

Previous iterations of the Best FIFA Football Women’s Award have featured appearances by some of the game’s mainstays. Lieke Martens, Alexia Putellas, Megan Rapinoe, Carli Lloyd, and others are well-known figures who have shared in this footballing glory.

On January 15, 2024, the results of the 2024 edition were released. This award’s winners are selected according to a set of criteria. The points earned by coaches, captains, the media, fans, and scorers are these parameters.

Indian women’s national team captain Ashalata Devi Loitongbam, who plays as a defender for Gokulam Kerala FC and the national team also fulfilled her part in the voting. The former Rangers FC defender is regarded as one of the finest in Asia.

Ashalata Devi voted for Aitana Bonmatí, Hinata Miyazawa, and Salma Paralluelo for the first, second, and third places respectively. Aitana Bonmati, the 25-year-old Spanish midfielder, who plays for FC Barcelona Women in Liga F has already been a recipient of this award in the past after she clinched it during the previous edition of the award ceremony.

The other two on our Indian captain’s list haven’t been in the race before. After the results are announced, it seems that both of them will have to wait a bit longer for their first feature on the podium as they will see the same podium from the previous edition unfold.

Lionel Messi clinched the Best Men’s Player of the Year title while Aitana Bonmati and Pep Guardiola stood with pride as the deserving recipients of the Best Women’s Player and Manager of the Year award respectively,

This year, FIFA also announced a special award coined as the Marta award. This award will honour the best goal in women’s football. Brazillian stalwart was presented with this special award as a token of honour for her contribution to women’s football and its reckoning glory.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.