La Albiceleste last won the title in 1993 and finished third in the previous edition.

Argentina announced a 28-member squad for the upcoming Copa America 2021 tournament in Brazil. Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero and Lautaro Martinez will spearhead La Albiceleste’s attack after coach Lionel Scaloni dropped Paulo Dybala and Lucas Ocampos. Tottenham Hotspur right-back Juan Foyth also did not find a place in the final squad for the South American championship.

Dybala was also not a part of the recent 2022 FIFA World Cup Cup Qualifiers. Argentina drew both games against Chile and Colombia respectively. Foyth and Ocampos, on the other hand, disappointed in the 1-1 draw against Chile. The 14-time Copa America champions begin their campaign against Chile on June 15.

They have won the Copa America title the second-most number of times in the tournament’s history. But, Argentina’s last title win in the competition came way back in 1993. Since then they’ve reached the final four times and lost on all four occasions. La Albiceleste finished third in the last edition after losing to Brazil in the semis.

The complete Argentina squad for Copa America 2021 is as followed:

Goalkeepers: Franco Armani (River Plate), Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa), Agustin Marchesin (Porto) and Juan Musso (Udinese)

Defenders: Gonzalo Montiel (River), Nicolas Otamendi (Benfica), German Pezzella, Lucas Martínez Quarta (Fiorentina), Nicolas Tagliafico, Lisandro Martínez (Ajax), Marcos Acuna (Sevilla), Cristian Romero (Atalanta), Nahuel Molina Lucero (Udinese).

Midfielders: Leandro Paredes, Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain), Guido Rodriguez (Betis), Giovani Lo Celso (Tottenham), Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen), Nicolas Gonzalez (Stuttgart), Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese), Alejandro Gomez (Sevilla), Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid), Nicolas Domínguez (Bologna)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan), Joaquin Correa (Lazio), Lucas Alario (Bayer Leverkusen) and Sergio Aguero (Barcelona)

Argentina fixtures in Copa America 2021

13/06/2021 Argentina vs Chile (9:00pm GMT)

18/06/2021 Argentina vs Uruguay (12:00am GMT)

20/06/2021 Argentina vs Paraguay (11:00pm GMT)

27/06/2021 Argentina vs Bolivia (9:00pm GMT)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.