The tournament is set to kick off on 10th August.

The 10th edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup starts Wednesday, August 10 and will witness sixteen national under-20 teams vying for the ultimate glory. The tournament will take place in Costa Rica from August 10 – 28. Three-time winner Germany will take on Colombia in the inaugural match of the biennial event at 10:30 pm IST on Wednesday, August 10. USA is the other title contender with three titles. Meanwhile, defending champion Japan start their campaign on August 12 against Netherlands.

About the Tournament

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup is organised by FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association). The tournament is organised for national teams of women under the age of 20. The tournament is held after every 2 years. The first edition of the tournament was held in 2002 under the name of  FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship with an upper age limit of 19. 

In 2006, the age limit was raised to 20 and the event was renamed as World Cup from the 2008 edition. The 2020 edition was postponed and later cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The last edition of the tournament was in 2018 and Japan lifted the trophy and are currently the title holder.


Costa Rica and Panama were originally selected as co-hosts of the 2020 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in 2019. Panama withdrew leaving Costa Rica as the only host. But the 2020 edition was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Costa Rica were awarded the hosts of the next edition of the tournament in 2022.


A total of 16 teams are participating in the 2022 edition of the Women’s World Cup. 

Group A:
Australia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Spain

Group B:
Colombia, Germany, Mexico, New Zealand

Group C:
Canada, France, South Korea, Nigeria

Group D:
Ghana, Japan, Netherlands, United States

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup
FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2022 trophy (Courtesy –FIFA)

Fixtures and Results (All the timings are in GMT +5:30)

August 10

Match 1:
Germany 0-1 Colombia

August 11

Match 2:
New Zealand 1-1 Mexico

Match 3:
Spain 0-0 Brazil

Match 4:
Costa Rica 1-3 Australia

Match 5:
Ghana 0-3 USA

August 12

Match 6:
Japan 1-0 Netherlands, 1:30 AM

Match 7:
France 0-1 Nigeria

Match 8:
Canada 0-2 Korea

August 13

Match 9:
Germany 3-0 New Zealand

August 14

Match 10:
Brazil 2-0 Australia

Match 11:
Mexico 0-0 Colombia

Match 12:
Costa Rica 0-5 Spain

Match 13:
Japan 2-0 Ghana

August 15

Match 14:
Korea 0-1 Nigeria

Match 15:
USA 0-3 Netherlands

Match 16:
France 3-1 Canada

August 17

Match 17:
Colombia 2-2 New Zealand

Match 18:
Mexico 1-0 Germany

Match 19:
Brazil 5-0 Costa Rica

Match 20:
Australia 0-3 Spain

August 18

Match 21:
USA 1-3 Japan

Match 22:
Netherlands 4-1 Ghana

Match 23:
Korea 0-1 France

Match 24:
Nigeria 3-1 Canada

August 21:

Quarter Final 1:
Spain 1-0 Mexico

Quarter Final 2:
Columbia 0-1 Brazil

August 22:

Quarter Final 3:
Nigeria 0-2 Netherlands

Quarter Final 4:
Japan 3(5)-3(3) France

August 25:

Semi Final 1:
Spain vs Netherlands, 4:00 AM

Semi Final 2:
Brazil vs Japan, 7:30 AM

August 28

Third place:
Runner-up semi-final 1 vs Runner-up semi-final 2, 4:00 AM

Winner semi-final 1 vs Winner semi-final 2, 7:30 AM

Telecast/Live Streaming Details

In India, the 2022 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup will be telecasted on Sports18 1 SD & HD.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.