Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup: List of all Golden Boot winners

Published at :September 9, 2022 at 12:10 AM
Modified at :December 19, 2022 at 5:42 AM
Post Featured Image

Hardik Malhotra

The player with the most goals in the tournament is the recipient of this award

Several awards at handed out at the end of every World Cup edition, alongside the prestigious World Cup trophy presented to the winning side. The Golden Ball is handed to the best player of that World Cup edition. While the Golden Boot is presented to the top scorer at the tournament. The Golden Glove Award is for the best goalkeeper at the tournament. The Best Young Player award is for the best U-21 player at the tournament. FIFA Fair Play Trophy, Goal of the Tournament and Most Entertaining Team awards are also there.

The Golden Boot was known as the  Golden Shoe from 1982 to 2006. It is for the top scorer at the tournament. Having a clinical striker to lead the attack is very important in doing well at any edition of the tournament. Unless you are Olivier Giroud leading the line for France in World Cup 2018. The French striker ended the tournament with the trophy and the winner's medal but did not manage a single-goal at the tournament. But Giroud lead the line brilliantly and did exactly what his team and manager asked of him.

World Cup Golden Boot winners

  • 1930 – Guillermo Stábile (Argentina)
  • 1934 – Oldřich Nejedlý (Czech)
  • 1938 – Leônidas (Brazil)
  • 1950 – Ademir (Brazil)
  • 1954 –  Sándor Kocsis (Hungary)
  • 1958 –  Just Fontaine (France)
  • 1962 – Flórián Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Garrincha (Brazil), Vavá (Brazil). Dražan Jerković (Yogoslavia), Leonel Sánchez (Chile)
  • 1966 – Eusébio (Portugal)
  • 1970 – Gerd Müller (Germany)
  • 1974 – Grzegorz Lato (Poland)
  • 1978 - Mario Kempes (Argentina)
  • 1982 – Paolo Rossi (Italy)
  • 1986 –  Gary Lineker (England)
  • 1990 – Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)
  • 1994 – Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
  • 1998 – Davor Šuker (Croatia)
  • 2002 – Ronaldo (Brazil)
  • 2006 – Miroslav Klose (Germany)
  • 2010 – Thomas Müller (Germany)
  • 2014 – James Rodríguez (Colombia)
  • 2018 – Harry Kane (England)
  • 2022 - Kylian Mbappe (France)

**This article was last updated on 18 December 2022.