Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Who are the all-time top scorers in AFC Cup history?

Published at :May 7, 2024 at 8:46 PM
Modified at :May 7, 2024 at 8:46 PM
Post Featured Image

Uttiyo Sarkar

The AFC Cup recently witnessed its ultimate edition and will be rebranded from the upcoming season.

The final edition of the AFC Cup was held in the 2023-24 season, with Australia’s Central Coast Mariners clinching the title. The Asian Football Confederation had began the tournament back in 2004, holding 19 editions of the competition – with only the 2020 edition being cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Now it will be replaced by the AFC Champions League 2 (ACL 2) going forward from the 2024-25 season.

Over the years, the AFC Cup has produced some highly entertaining football between some of Asia’s top clubs. A number of Indian teams have participated in it too. Dempo SC, Bengaluru FC and East Bengal are the most successful ones, with the Blues reaching the 2016 AFC Cup final and Dempo and the Kolkata giants reaching the semi-final stages in the 2008 and in the 2012-13 seasons, respectively.

The AFC Cup has also given the platform to some prominent Asian footballers to prove their mettle and score A LOT of goals. The Central Coast Mariners’ striker Marco Tulio won the Golden Boot in the final edition, having scored eight goals in the campaign. With that being said, he still stands behind some of the all-time top goal-scorers in the competition.

This comprises of players who have played in multiple editions of the AFC Cup, be it with a single team or different sides. In this article, we will delve into the all-time leading goal-scorers in the AFC Cup history – the names of whom will forever be etched into the AFC Cup history books with the competition now being a thing of the past.

The all-time top-scorer in AFC Cup history is Bienvenido Maranon, the Spanish/Philippines striker who stood out for the Philippines side Ceres-Negros (or United City). He scored 35 goals in the AFC Cup for them and won the AFC Cup Golden Boot award in the 2019 and 2020 editions. Here are all the highest-goal-scorers in AFC Cup’s history.

  • Bienvenido Maranon (35 goals)
  • Mahmoud Shelbaeih (34 goals)
  • Aleksander Duric (32 goals)
  • Amjad Radhi (32 goals)
  • Bader Al-Mutawa (30 goals)
  • Rico (30 goals)
  • Ali Ashfaq (29 goals)
  • Rogerinho (27 goals)
  • Mohamad Ghaddar (26 goals)
  • Hammadi Ahmed (26 goals)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.