Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

AFC Champions League

AFC Women's Champions League expanded to 22 teams

Published at :June 14, 2024 at 5:19 PM
Modified at :June 14, 2024 at 5:20 PM
Post Featured Image

Gourav Samal

The official draw ceremonies for both the Preliminary Stage and Group Stage will be conducted on Thursday, July 18 at the AFC House.

In a historical development, the Asian Football Confederation has confirmed that about twenty-two clubs from twenty-two different nations will be part of the inaugural AFC Women’s Champions League, which is slated to begin in August. 

AFC took it to their official Twitter handle to declare about 22 clubs taking part in the 2024-24 AFC Women’s Champions League, including preliminary and group stage fixtures. 

They wrote, “Landmark AWCL to feature 22 clubs ahead of Preliminary Stage and Group Stage Draw ceremonies on July 18!”

How will the League proceed

Although 22 clubs will be participating in the league, clubs from the top eight Membership Associations (as per the rank on 15 March 2024) will get a direct entry to the group stage fixtures, which will be divided into three groups with four teams in each group. 

Before the commencement of the centralized league format matches, in the group stage from 6 October 2024 to 12 October 2024, all other 14 teams will go through a preliminary stage which will be conducted from 25 August 2024 to 31 August 2024.   

The preliminary stage will consist of four groups, which will include four teams in two groups and three in the other two groups. The winner of each team will get a ticket to the next stage of the game. 

Host Nations 

Preliminary stage matches will be held in Jordan, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia and Thailand, with each nation hosting one group. While China PR and Vietnam have got the nod for hosting one group in the group stage matches. The third host nation for the group stage will be declared after the Draw Ceremony and the name will be chosen before the commencement of the group stage matches. 

Clubs who are going to be part of the inaugural AFC Women’s Champions League

RankMember AssociationClub
1JapanUrawa Red Diamonds Ladies
2DPR KoreaNaegohyang Women’s FC
3AustraliaMelbourne City FC
4China PRWuhan Jiangda Women’s FC
5Korea RepublicHyundai Steel Red Angels Women’s FC
6VietnamHo Chi Minh City Women’s FC
7PhilippinesKaya FC-Iloilo
8Chinese TaipeiTaichung Blue Whale Women’s Football Team
10UzbekistanPFC Nasaf
11MyanmarMyawady Women Football Club
12Islamic Republic of IranBam Khatoon FC
13IndiaOdisha Football Club
14JordanEtihad Club
15Hong Kong, ChinaTBC*
16LaosYoung Elephants FC
17MalaysiaSabah FA
18NepalAPF Football Club
19United Arab EmiratesAbu Dhabi Country Club
20SingaporeLion City Sailors FC
21BhutanRTC FC
22Saudi ArabiaAl Nassr Club

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.