Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

SAFF Championship

SAFF announces groups for upcoming U-17, U-20, Women's Championships

Published at :June 8, 2024 at 7:10 PM
Modified at :June 8, 2024 at 7:13 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : AIFF media)

Khel Now

Several teams will participate in the SAFF tournaments this year.

Draw for the SAFF U17 Championship 2024, SAFF U20 Championship 2024 and SAFF Women’s Championship was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh, on Saturday, June 8, 2024.

In the U17 event, holders India were placed in Group A alongside Maldives and Bangladesh. Hosts Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were drawn in Group B. The SAFF U17 Championship will be played in Bhutan from September 18- 28, 2024.

In the U20 championship, India, the defending champions, have been drawn with Maldives and Bhutan in Group B, while hosts Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka made up Group A. The SAFF U20 Championship 2024, will be held in Kathmandu, Nepal from August 16-28, 2024.

In the SAFF Women’s Championship 2024, the Indian Senior Women’s National team were drawn with Bangladesh and Pakistan in Group A, while hosts Nepal were drawn in Group B with Sri Lanka, Maldives and Bhutan. 

SAFF announces groups for upcoming U-17, U-20, Women's Championships.
Indian Senior Women’s National team. (Image Source: AIFF)

This year, seven teams will participate in the three competitions. The format of all the competitions remains the same. All three championships will be played on the League-cum-knockout basis, where seven teams are divided into two groups (four teams in one group and three in the other).

The top two teams from both groups will qualify for the semi-finals.  

India emerged as champions of both SAFF youth tournaments held in 2022 for the U20 and U17 age groups. In the last edition of the SAFF Women’s Championship 2022, India lost to Nepal 1-0 in the semi-finals. 

SAFF U17 Men’s Championship 2024, Bhutan: September 18-28, 2024

Group A: India, Maldives, BangladeshGroup B: Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

SAFF U20 Men’s Championship 2024, Nepal: August 16-28, 2024.

Group A: Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri LankaGroup B: India, Maldives, Bhutan

SAFF Women’s Championship 2024, Nepal: October 17 to 30, 2024

Group A: India, Bangladesh, PakistanGroup B: Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.