The Mariners have also announced that the armband will be given to different players among the five for different games.

ATK Mohun Bagan head coach Antonio Lopez Habas has announced five captains ahead of the ISL 2020-21 season. Out of the five players, four were part of the team that won the Indian Super League (ISL) in the 2019-20 campaign while another one is one of the newcomers.

Following completion of the mandatory quarantine period, the ATK Mohun Bagan squad, under Antonio Lopez Habas is practicing behind closed doors. While the tactician announced the captains ahead of the new season, it was also revealed that the armband will be given to different players ahead of different matches considering the situation.

Star striker Roy Krishna and midfielder Edu Garcia are the only two overseas players who have been picked for the captainship roles. Goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharya, Defenders Pritam Kotal and Sandesh Jhingan are the other members who have been picked for the role.

The reason behind Antonio Lopez Habas choosing multiple captains is because the Spaniard believes in a team game and does not want stardom to affect the dressing room. The Mariners have registered 27 first team players ahead of the new ISL season, however, the tactician is keeping a keen watch on the reserves team. Habas has also reminded all members of the team that good performance is the only qualification to be named in the matchday squad in the forthcoming season.

ATK Mohun Bagan will begin their campaign with the league opener against rivals Kerala Blasters on November 20. While Habas was able to win the league in the previous season, the Spaniard was defeated in both games against the southerners, which is why the squad is undergoing a five-day long special training ahead of the game against Kerala Blasters.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Twitter and join our community on Telegram.