The newly entrants of the league are understandably at the bottom of this table.

The Indian Super League (ISL) completed its seventh edition in March 2021. Mumbai City FC won the league season and ensured a direct qualification into the AFC Champions League and also lifted the ISL trophy later on, by beating ATK Mohun Bagan in the final. But despite all of their success in the 2020-21 season, the Islanders do not have the most wins in the history of the competition.

A look back at the overall history of the ISL shows FC Goa leading the charts in terms of individual match victories. They are followed by other heavyweights of the league who have been part of every season since its launch in 2014. Understandably, new entrants of the league, SC East Bengal are at the bottom of the table.

Here is a look at all the ISL clubs, ranking them in order of most number of wins in the competition’s history:

SC East Bengal – 3 in 20

SC East Bengal
SC East Bengal had a disastrous debut season in the ISL

SC East Bengal entered the Indian Super League in the 2020-21 season after finding new investors. But the Kolkata-based club could not mount a strong challenge in their debut season. The Red & Gold Brigade only registered three wins in 20 matches.

Hyderabad FC – 8 in 38

Hyderabad FC came into existence just prior to the 2019-20 season. The Nizams had a tough debut season, where they managed only two victories and finished at the bottom. However, their second season was a huge improvement. The Nizams narrowly missed out on playoffs qualification in ISL 2020-21, after winning six games. 

Odisha FC – 9 in 38

Odisha FC were the second debutants in ISL 2019-20 alongside Hyderabad FC. The Juggernauts won seven games in their maiden season but had a complete change in fortunes in the second. Odisha FC finished at the bottom of the standings after winning only two games in the 2020-21 season. 

ATK Mohun Bagan – 13 in 23

ATK Mohun Bagan
ATK Mohun Bagan qualified for the AFC Cup after finishing second in the league

ATK Mohun Bagan played their first-ever ISL season after the two clubs in ATK and Mohun Bagan merged to form a new entity. The Mariners enjoyed a strong season and managed to qualify for the playoffs. However, the season finished on a disappointing note as they missed out on the top spot in the league stage, before losing the final to Mumbai City. They registered 13 wins overall in their one and only season so far.

Jamshedpur FC – 24 in 74

Jamshedpur FC entered into the fray during the 2017-18 season. The Men of Steel had a mediocre first season as they finished fifth. It is safe to say that JFC have are yet to perform to their potential, having always around the mid-table positions. They have registered 24 overall victories in 74 games.

Delhi Dynamos – 25 in 82

Delhi Dynamos were part of the eight original clubs that took part in the inaugural season of the ISL. The outfit participated until the 2018-19 season, following which the owners shifted base to Bhubaneswar and started a new club in Odisha FC. The Dynamos registered 25 victories across 82 games in total. 

FC Pune City – 27 in 80

Similar to Delhi Dynamos, FC Pune City were also part of the original set-up in the first ISL season. The club shut shop after the 2018-19 season. Meanwhile, they recorded 27 wins in 80 games during their existence.

Kerala Blasters FC – 32 in 122

Kerala Blasters
Kerala Blasters FC reached the ISL final twice but lost on both occasions

Kerala Blasters have been a part of the ISL since the inaugural season. The Kochi-based outfit have delivered mixed performances across all seven editions. Their recent form have been sub-par as the Blasters finished second from bottom in the ISL 2020-21 season. The Yellow Army have won only 32 games from the 122 they have played.

NorthEast United FC – 35 in 120

NorthEast United are one of six clubs in the ISL to have played more than 100 games. The Highlanders have won 35 out of 120 games across seven editions. NEUFC finished third last season, which is their best ever performance in the league. The two-time playoffs entrants are yet to win the crown. 

Bengaluru FC – 40 in 82

Bengaluru FC joined the ISL along with Jamshedpur FC during the 2017-18 campaign. The former I-League champions went on to lift the ISL trophy during the 2018-19 season. The Blues have a strong record in the competition, winning 40 games from 82 overall fixtures. 

ATK FC – 41 in 107

ATK played six editions before merging with Mohun Bagan and forming a new entity called ATK Mohun Bagan. The Kolkata-based outfit played 107 games and won 41 of them. The side won three ISL titles in the process (2014, 2016 and 2019-20). 

Chennaiyin FC – 44 in 127

Chennaiyin FC
The recent form of the two-time ISL champions has been worrying

Chennaiyin FC are two-time ISL winners, but their recent form is in sharp contrast to their past glories. The Marina Machans have played 127 games and have recorded 44 victories. They won the competition in 2015 and 2017-18, but finished eighth last year. 

Mumbai City FC – 51 in 123

Mumbai City FC became the fourth different club to lift the ISL trophy as they outclassed everyone last term. MCFC have 51 victories in 123 games. The Islanders have found a new rigour since City Football Group bought the majority stake in the club. They signed established stars like Hugo Boumous, Mourtada Fall and Bartholomew Ogbeche last season, which helped them win the ISL title. 

FC Goa – 58 in 130

FC Goa have won the most number of games in the history of the ISL. They have played the most number of games as well. The Gaurs lead the rest of the clubs with 58 wins in 130 games. Last season, they also became the first-ever Indian club to play in the AFC Champions League. Interestingly, they have never won the ISL despite an impressive record.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.