This year the historic tournament is hosting a record 112 teams incluiding 16 from overseas.

The Subroto Cup International Football Tournament – Asia’s largest youth football tournament kicked off on 20th August 2019 at Dr. Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi. In the inaugural match played in the sub-junior U-14 category, between Reliance Foundation School (RFS) and Jharkhand, Reliance Foundation School emerged victorious defeating Jharkhand by 4 goals to 1 in Pool A.

The match started with Reliance Foundation School looking the more organized of the two teams. They got an early lead with the help of Sanathoi Singh in the 4th minute. Sanathoi scored another in the 22nd minute to double the lead for his team. In the 23rd minute, the gap was further widened by a goal from Srijal Rai.

Jharkhand hinted towards a comeback as a goal just at the brink of the half-time by Akash Hembram narrowed the gap to 3-1. With the start of the second half, it was a similar story. Though, the half didn’t see many goals a 38th minute goal by Aditya Dhingra was the final nail in the coffin. The match ended with Reliance Foundation School winning the game 4-1.

At the opening ceremony, held at Dr. Ambedkar Stadium, Air Marshal PP Bapat VSM, Air Officer-in-charge-Administration & Vice Chairman, Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society (SMSES) was the Chief Guest.

Sharing his thoughts at the function, Air Marshal PP Bapat, said, “It’s a momentous occasion for us to kick-off the Diamond Jubilee Edition of the Subroto Cup International Football Tournament 2019. We at the Indian Air Force have always strongly believed in sports as a critical factor to usher in human development and this needs no emphasis, as football is undoubtedly the world’s favourite sport and the love for it is similar amongst the air warriors. Therefore, hosting the 60th edition is a matter of pride for us.

The number of participating teams from India and abroad has seen a steady rise over the years and that speaks for the popularity of the tournament across the globe. I am happy that the Subroto Cup International Football Tournament this year is seeing participation from 16 international teams – the highest ever in the tournament’s history. I wish all the participating teams all the very best and hope to see the best team emerge victorious.”

The tournament this year is witnessing a record participation from 112 teams including 16 international teams vying for the coveted winner’s prize in the Sub Junior Boys (U-14), Junior (U-17) Boys & Girls categories.

                                                                                                                                                                Group Captain Deepak Ahluwalia, Honorary Secretary General, SMSES announced that Subroto Mukerjee Sports Education Society (SMSES), celebrating its Diamond Jubilee Edition this year, has enhanced the prize money for the Winners and Runners-up in all three categories by Rs 50,000/-. The best player and best goal keeper awards have also been increased from Rs 40,000/- to Rs 50,000/-. 

Now the winners for the Sub Junior boys, apart from Cup, will walk away with an attractive cash prize of INR 3,00,000/-, while a cash prize for INR 4,00,000/- each will be awarded to Junior Boys & Girls. The Runners-up in the Sub Junior Boys category walk away with a cash prize of INR 1, 75,000/- while those in the Junior Boys & Girls would be earn INR 2, 50,000/- each.

Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi will play host to the knock out games including the semi-finals and finals. Along with the Ambedkar Stadium, Subroto Cup 2019 round-robin games will be played at New Wellington Camp Ground, Race Course Road, Subroto Park Football Ground, Football Stadium at East Vinod Nagar in Patparganj, IP Extension, GD Goenka International School and Pathways World School. This year Transform Vicky will be the official ball and Kitting Partner and accommodation for the participating teams has been arranged at Lemon Tree group of Hotels.

The tournament is organized by Subroto Mukerjee Sports Education Society under the aegis of Air Force Sports Control Board and is supported by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Ministry of Human Resource Development and the Sports Authority of India.