There was a similarity to the approach of the Army Boys from Bengaluru and H Elias High School from the East Khasi Hills District of Meghalaya who became the first two teams to enter the U-17 Junior Boys quarterfinals of the 57th Subroto Cup International Football Tournament, being played both at the Dr. Ambedkar Stadium and NWC grounds here today.

The Army Boys from pool C gave a sound thrashing to Defence Services College boys from Colombo while the Meghalaya team from pool A repeated it on Government Senior Secondary School from Lakshadweep, both winning 7-0.

Dip Majumdar scored another hatrick in Army Boys 7-0 victory over Sri Lanka.

With one-sided and heavy scoring matches becoming order of the day in this year’s Subroto Cup International Football tournament, it was difficult to sift healthy contenders from aspirants, particularly in pools B and D. A clear picture will emerge after the last league engagements tomorrow.

Mahesh Singh,Seiming Thang scored brace for Meghalaya in 7-0 victory Lakshadweep..

Meanwhile, it was celebration time for both the Bengaluru and Khasi Hills boys. For the Army Boys, Dip Majumdar was the major contributor with three strikes while, Renzong, Bishal, Tony and Prem made it impossible for their opponents to go anywhere near. In fact, all these goals came in the first half! That was the kind of domination under which their rivals wilted.

The Meghalaya boys were impressive with four strikes in the first session and they followed it up with three in the second. R. Kharmik, T. Santosh Singh, Mahesh Singh (2), Seiming Thang (2) and Bijay Rai scored for them.

In other matches, BSL+2 High School from Bokaro (Jharkhand) thrashed The Air Force School 10-0, thanks to two own goals from Johnson Singh. In his anxiety to clear the ball, Johnson’s shots proved to be ill-directed that he had to cut a sorry figure. Of the other eight, Mangal Singh Sardar netted four.

Government Model Sr. Sec. School, Sec 37 B, Chandigarh beat Modern School IPSC, New Delhi, 4-1 as Akshunya opened the account for the winners. Soon after, Gurkirat scored to consolidate and Ananmay struck in the 22nd minute to reduce the margin. One minute later, Akshunya added to his tally and Devas Dabas struck just before half time to complete the task.

Katovi scored hattiick in Nagaland 9-0 victory over Gujarat.

Maharana Sports College from Dehradun (Uttarakhand) defeated Krida Prabodhini from Pune (Maharashtra) 3-0, thanks to Ankul Negi’s brace and Shubham Rana’s opening strike. State Sports Academy from Dimapur humiliated Navrachana International School from Valsad 9-0. Kito (2), Katovi (3), Hangien, Sinlo, Kitho and Ilungria were the contributors in this pool C inconsequential match.

Avinash, Danish scored brace for New Delhi in their 4-0 win over Chhattisgarh

Govt. Hr Sec School from Arunachal Pradesh drew 1-1 with Sainik School from Manipur. Arunachal were put ahead in the very first minute when Nadatari scored but 42 minutes later found their equalizer through Indra Kumar. Mamta Modern School, VikasPuri, beat St Javier Higher Secondary School (Chhattisgarh) 4-0—Avinash and Danish scored twice each.

Pulak and Safikul scored hattrick in Assam 13-2 win over Madhya Pradesh. .

In other matches, Rosary Hr Sec School from Goa defeated NLC Boys Hr Sec School, Neyveli (Tamil Nadu) 2-0, while Chandrapur High School form Assam posted a command 13-2 win over St Joseph’s Co-Ed School from Bhopal. Pulak(3), Safikul(3) turned out the main scorers for Assam. For Bhopal schoolboys, Ayyush and John scored.

Janad hattrick , Mubashir and M Ishal brace helped Kerala to defeat Daman & Diu 15-0 .

Farook Higher Secondary School from Kozhikode (Kerala) whipped Coast Guard Public School from Daman 15-0 and Kalyangarh Bidhan from West Bengal drew goalless with Delhi Public School, Panipat (Haryana). For Kerala, Janad (3) and Fawad(2), Mubashir(2), Amal(2), and M. Ishal(2) scored with contributions from other teammates.