Akashdeep Singh, Ngangom Gunendro and Ronik Singh scored the goals for the southerners.

The Vedanta Youth Cup, Goa 2019 kicked off in great style at the Sesa Football Academy in Sirsaim on Monday.

In the inaugural match of the debut edition of the tournament, which features two of the biggest corporate football academies of India, Bengaluru FC overcame Reliance Foundation Young Champs by a 3-0 margin.

During an intense first half, both the teams came out all guns blazing and came very close to scoring.

As matters heated up between the teams in the middle, Young Champs’ centre-back Aquib received a yellow card.

After a goalless first 45 minutes, the game resumed with Bengaluru FC putting on some early pressure on their opponents. Finally, in the 57th minute, they found the breakthrough as Akashdeep Singh lashed the ball in the back of the nets to give the Blues with a much-needed lead.

Bengaluru FC’s Ngangom Gunendro won the Man of the Match award

The Blues’ simply refused to pull back as only a few minutes later, substitute Ngangom Gunendro doubled the lead to heap more pressure on Reliance Youth Foundation. On the other end, Young Champs’ forward Ayush came close to scoring on two occassions but the Blues’ goalkeeper saved his attempts effortlessly.

On the 67th minute, Bengaluru found another breakthrough as Ronik Singh put the ball past the goalkeeper to put an end to the game. However, super-sub Gunendro was hailed as the Man of the Match for his wonderful strike and received his award from former Indian national team skipper and Arjuna awardee, Mr. Brahmanand Shankhwalkar.

The match proved to be the perfect opener for the mouthwatering clashes up ahead in the Vedanta Youth Cup, Goa 2019.

BFC U18 XI: Dipesh, Jagdeep, Lalhmunmawia, Rajanbir, Johnson, Fredy, Bekey, Lyngdoh, Lalthangliana, Akashdeep, Ronik.

Substitutions: Raj, Molla, Rakesh, Robin, Gunendro, Emanuel

RYFC U18 XI: Jackson, Salman, Feliyson, Aquib, Bala, Kaustav, Basith, Gulab, Thoi, Agush, Yash.

Substitutions: Birendra, Aritra, Supriyo, Nihal, Nikhil, Subhajit, Zidan, Mustaque