Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA Champions League

UEFA Champions League: List of all Golden Boot winners

Published at :June 1, 2024 at 10:13 PM
Modified at :June 2, 2024 at 2:30 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Real Madrid/Barcelona)


Ronaldo has the highest goal-scoring tally in a single UCL season

The UEFA Champions League is the biggest club competition in European football. It is backed by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) as the name suggests. The first-ever UCL season dates back to 1992.

Top football clubs from around Europe get a chance to be claimed as the champions of the continent. Real Madrid are the serial winners of this competition, winning it a total of 14 times at the time of writing. They can win their 15th after defeating Borussia Dortmund in the 2023-24 finals at the Wembley Stadium.

For the 2023-24 season, it was the usual group stage format comprising of eight groups in total with four teams in each. Every team in a group plays the other a total of two times, at home and away. The top two sides from each group then make it to the Round of 16.

But from the 2024-25 season, this group stage procedure will be entirely scrapped. There will be a league phase approach with all 36 sides (rising from 32 in 2023-24) in the same table. The top eight moves to the Round of 16 while from ninth to 24th battle in the knockout playoffs.

Finally we the 16 teams needed to continue in the usual manner from the Round of 16. Then we have the quarter, semi-finals and the main finale.

The 1992-93 season was the birth of the Champions League as previously it was run as European Cup. Not only the name, but many things around the competition was changed – marketing and TV rights in particular. After the major facelift, Romario ended up winning the first-ever UCL Golden Boot for scoring seven goals with PSV Eindhoven.

Till date, we have seen the UEFA Champions League Golden Boot being shared by a trio of players in history for two times. The 1999-2000 was the first such when Mario Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona) and Raul (Real Madrid) scored 10 goals each.

In the 2000s, this incident happened once again when the world saw Neymar (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) share the accolade. Each player had scored 10 goals in the 2014-15 UCL season.

Cristiano Ronaldo has been a great success in this competition winning the Golden Boot a historic seven times. He also happens to be the player to score the highest number of goals in a single Champions League campaign (17 goals for Real Madrid, 2013-14 season).

UEFA Champions League: All Golden Boot winners in history

1992-93Romario (PSV Eindhoven) – 7 goals
1993-94Ronald Koeman (Barcelona), Wynton Rufer (Werder Bremen) – 8 goals
1994-95George Weah (PSG) – 7 goals
1995-96Jari Litmanen (Ajax) – 9 goals
1996-97Milinko Pantic (Atletico Madrid) – 5 goals
1997-98Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus) – 10 goals
1998-99Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kyiv), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United) – 8 goals
1999-2000Mario Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona), Raul (Real Madrid) – 10 goals
2000-01Raul (Real Madrid) – 7 goals
2001-02Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) – 10 goals
2002-03Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) – 12 goals
2003-04Fernando Morientes (Monaco) – 9 goals
2004-05Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) – 8 goals
2005-06Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan) – 9 goals
2006-07Kaka (AC Milan) – 10 goals
2007-08Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) – 8 goals
2008-09Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 9 goals
2009-10Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 8 goals
2010-11Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 12 goals
2011-12Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 14 goals
2012-13Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 12 goals
2013-14Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 17 goals
2014-15Neymar (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 10 goals
2015-16Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 16 goals
2016-17Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 12 goals
2017-18Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 15 goals
2018-19Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 12 goals
2019-20Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) – 15 goals
2020-21Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund) – 10 goals
2021-22Karim Benzema (Real Madrid) – 15 goals
2022-23Erling Haaland (Manchester City) – 12 goals
2023-24Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich) – 8 goals

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.