Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score


Who won the first edition of PGA Championship? Major's past winners explored

Published at :May 20, 2024 at 11:56 AM
Modified at :May 20, 2024 at 11:56 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Getty Images)

Manjit Verma

Jim Barnes won the final with a 4-foot putt, defeating Jock Hutchison by one hole.

The 1916 PGA Championship, the first major golf championship, took place from October 10-14 at Siwanoy Country Club in Eastchester, New York. Jim Barnes won the final with a 4-foot putt, defeating Jock Hutchison by one hole.

James Martin Barnes, an English golfer, was a pioneer in the United States. Born in 1886, he became a prominent figure in the early years of American professional golf. Barnes, along with Tommy Armour and Rory McIlroy, won three major championships.

His career includes 22 PGA Tour wins and 29 professional victories. He won the PGA Championship in 1916 and 1919, contributing to his nine major championship triumphs. His achievements continue to inspire golfers.

PGA Championship History

In 1894, two unofficial national championships for amateur golfers were organized at Newport Country Club in Rhode Island and Saint Andrew’s Golf Club in New York, while an Open championship for professional golfers was held at Saint Andrew’s. These championships were not officially sanctioned by a governing body for American golf, leading to controversy among players and organizers.

This led to the formation of the United States Golf Association (USGA), which became the first formal golf organization in the country. Golf quickly became a sport of national popularity and importance.

In 1916, the Professional Golfers Association of America (PGA) was established in New York City, with the first PGA Championship held in October 1916 at Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, New York. The winner, Jim Barnes, received $500 and a diamond-studded gold medal donated by Rodman Wanamaker.

The 2016 winner, Jimmy Walker, earned $1.8 million and was awarded a replica of the Wanamaker Trophy, which was also donated by Wanamaker.

PGA Championship Winner List

Here is the list of winners at the PGA Championship:

  • 1916-Jim Barnes
  • 1917-None
  • 1918-None
  • 1919-Jim Barnes
  • 1920-Jock Hutchison
  • 1921-Walter Hagen
  • 1922-Gene Sarazen
  • 1923-Gene Sarazen
  • 1924-Walter Hagen
  • 1925-Walter Hagen
  • 1926-Walter Hagen
  • 1927-Walter Hagen
  • 1928-Leo Diegel
  • 1929-Leo Diegel
  • 1930-Tommy Armour
  • 1931-Tom Creavy
  • 1932-Olin Dutra
  • 1933-Gene Sarazen
  • 1934-Paul Runyan
  • 1935-Johnny Revolta
  • 1936-Denny Shute
  • 1937-Denny Shute
  • 1938-Paul Runyan
  • 1939-Henry Picard
  • 1940-Byron Nelson
  • 1941-Vic Ghezzi
  • 1942-Sam Snead
  • 1943-None
  • 1944-Bob Hamilton
  • 1945-Byron Nelson
  • 1946-Ben Hogan
  • 1947-Jim Ferrier
  • 1948-Ben Hogan
  • 1949-Sam Snead
  • 1950-Chandler Harper
  • 1951-Sam Snead
  • 1952-Jim Turnesa
  • 1953-Walter Burkemo
  • 1954-Chick Harbert
  • 1955-Doug Ford
  • 1956-Jack Burke Jr.
  • 1957-Lionel Hebert
  • 1958-Dow Finsterwald
  • 1959-Bob Rosburg
  • 1960-Jay Hebert
  • 1961-Jerry Barber
  • 1962-Gary Player
  • 1963-Jack Nicklaus
  • 1964-Bobby Nichols
  • 1965-Dave Marr
  • 1966-Al Geiberger
  • 1967-Don January
  • 1968-Julius Boros
  • 1969-Raymond Floyd
  • 1970-Dave Stockton
  • 1971-Jack Nicklaus
  • 1972-Gary Player
  • 1973-Jack Nicklaus
  • 1974-Lee Trevino
  • 1975-Jack Nicklaus
  • 1976-Dave Stockton
  • 1977-Lanny Wadkins
  • 1978-John Mahaffey
  • 1979-David Graham
  • 1980-Jack Nicklaus
  • 1981-Larry Nelson
  • 1982-Raymond Floyd
  • 1983-Hal Sutton
  • 1984-Lee Trevino
  • 1985-Hubert Green
  • 1986-Bob Tway
  • 1987-Larry Nelson
  • 1988-Jeff Sluman
  • 1989-Payne Stewart
  • 1990-Wayne Grady
  • 1991-John Daly
  • 1992-Nick Price
  • 1993-Paul Azinger
  • 1994-Nick Price
  • 1995-Steve Elkington
  • 1996-Mark Brooks
  • 1997-Davis Love III
  • 1998-Vijay Singh
  • 1999-Tiger Woods
  • 2000-Tiger Woods
  • 2001-David Toms
  • 2002-Rich Beem
  • 2003-Shaun Micheel
  • 2004-Vijay Singh
  • 2005-Phil Mickelson
  • 2006-Tiger Woods
  • 2007-Tiger Woods
  • 2008-Pádraig Harrington
  • 2009-Yang Yong-eun
  • 2010-Martin Kaymer
  • 2011-Keegan Bradley
  • 2012-Rory McIlroy
  • 2013-Jason Dufner
  • 2014-Rory McIlroy
  • 2015-Jason Day
  • 2016-Jimmy Walker
  • 2017-Justin Thomas
  • 2018-Brooks Koepka
  • 2019-Brooks Koepka
  • 2020-Collin Morikawa
  • 2021-Phil Mickelson
  • 2022-Justin Thomas
  • 2023-Brooks Koepka

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram