Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Who is the first winner of Wells Fargo Championship? Winners list explored

Published at :May 12, 2024 at 7:25 AM
Modified at :May 12, 2024 at 7:26 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Getty Images)

Manjit Verma

David Toms claimed the first title in 2003, with his impeccable win of 10 under-par.

The Wells Fargo Championship was inaugurated in 2003 with the name Wachovia Championship. The tournament was hosted in Quails Hollow Club, South Carolina, and won by David Toms. In 2023, Wyndham Clark held the title of Wells Fargo championship which was his first PGA Tour victory since the start of his professional career. 

Since the start of the Wells Fargo Championship, only two players have held the cup more than once. Rory McIlroy from Northern Ireland has won the title three times in 2010, 2015, and 2021. Another golfer is Max Homa from the United States following the lead of Rory McIlroy with two victories in the year 2019 and 2022. 

The Wells Fargo Championship 2024 will be held in the same course from May 9 to May 12. The purse of the tournament is $20 million with the winners curt of $3.6 million along with 700 FedEx points. 

PGA The Wells Fargo Championship Winners List, Year-by-Year

Since the inauguration year of the Wells Fargo Championship, the Quails Hollow Club has been hosting the tournament with the exemption of two years, 2017 and 2022. In 2003 David Toms claimed the title with his impeccable win of 10 under par and 278 scores in the tournament.  

The Wells Fargo Championship Winners List, year-by-year is as follows:

2023Wyndham Clark$3,600,000
2022Max Homa (2)$1,620,000
2021Rory McIlroy (3)$1,458,000
2020Not PlayedN/A
2019Max Homa$1,422,000
2018Jason Day$1,386,000
2017Brian Harman$1,350,000
2016James Hahn$1,314,000
2015Rory McIlroy (2)$1,278,000
2014J. B. Holmes$1,242,000
2013Derek Ernst$1,206,000
2012Rickie Fowler$1,170,000
2011Lucas Glover$1,170,000
2010Rory McIlroy$1,170,000
2009Sean O’Hair$1,170,000
2008Anthony Kim$1,152,000
2007Tiger Woods$1,134,000
2006Jim Furyk$1,134,000
2005Vijay Singh$1,080,000
2004Joey Sindelar$1,008,000
2003David Toms$1,008,000

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram