Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


List of nations with most Women's Hockey World Cup titles

Published at :December 27, 2022 at 10:09 PM
Modified at :December 27, 2022 at 10:10 PM
Post Featured Image


There have been only four countries to lift the prestigious trophy.

The FIH Women's Hockey World Cup follows a similar format to the men's tournament. In fact, their hosting dates too are quite close, give or take a few months. The recent women's World Cup in fact happened in July and saw the top 16 nations battle it out. Eventually, it was the Netherlands who were crowned champions after they beat Argentina in the finals.

Over the years we have had different champions in the game. However, with the number of teams competing in every World Cup, there have just been four teams who have actually had the privilege of holding the title. Today we are going to look at these champions and find out about their exploits at this grand tournament.

4. Germany - 2 titles

Germany won the World Cup twice. Once in 1976 and the second time in 1981. Till 1986 the women's World Cup was a biennial tournament. So naturally, there was another World Cup that happened in the middle of 1978 where the Germans finished in the runners-up position. The 1976 World Cup saw the Die Danas not lose any game on their way to the trophy.

Finally, they beat the Argentinians 2-0 in the finals to win their maiden trophy on their home turf in West Berlin. The 1981 one was pretty much like an action replay of the first. The Honamas lifted the trophy yet again without any hassle. This time it was the Netherlands that fell to their dominance. After holding onto a 1-1 draw through the stipulated time the Dutch finally succumbed to the penalties. The victory gave Germany their second World Cup trophy.

3. Australia - 2 titles

Australia won the World Cup twice consecutively in 1994 and 1998. In the first one hosted in Dublin, Ireland they beat Argentina 2-0. Courtesy of goals from Michelle "Shelley" Andrews (53') and Jacqueline "Jackie" Margaret Pereira (54') within a minute from each other.

The finals in 1998 saw the Aussies beat the Dutch (3-2) and defended their title. Legendary Australian hockey player and now coach Alyson Annan was one of the scorers in that match. In fact, she was adjudged both the player of the tournament and was also the top goal scorer in that entire competition.

2. Argentina - 2 titles

Argentina struck gold pretty late in the World Cup. Before their successful campaign in 2002 the "Las Leonas" fell short thrice at the final stage. Despite those setbacks, the Argentinian team did not lose hope. Under the tutelage of head coach Sergio Vigil, captain Karina Masotti led the girls to their debut world cup title.

The Argentine team won all their games and became fitting champions beating the Dutch on penalties. Coincidentally in 2010 they again faced the Dutch. This time again the result was in favour of the blue and white stripes. Argentina won that game 3-1.

1. Netherlands - 9 titles

Finally, we come down to the team that has made a habit of winning the World Cup. So much so that it has won a title every decade right from the day of its inception. The Netherlands won the inaugural world cup in 1974 and also happened to win the most recent one this year. In the middle, the Dutch ladies added seven more to their impressive resumes.

The Netherlands has two consecutive hat-tricks of World Cup trophy wins. The only team to do so. With three back-to-back World Cup trophy wins since 2014 the Dutch show no intent on slowing down. So we can definitely expect some more fireworks from the "Oranje Brigade" in the near future.