Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score


Hockey Asia Cup 2022 Super 4s: India vs Malaysia Live Updates

Published at :May 29, 2022 at 10:01 PM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Hockey India)

Khel Now

After securing a draw and a loss in the first two pool matches, India came back with a bang in the Hockey Asia Cup. They smashed 16 goals past Indonesia to reach the Super 4s stage of the tournament. After that, they began their Super 4s journey with a solid 2-1 win over Japan on Saturday. They now face Malaysia, and a win could seal their spot in the final . The defending champions India will be led by Olympic medallist Birendra Lakra. Experienced striker and a veteran of four Asia Cups, SV Sunil, will be his deputy. 

Apart from India, Japan, South Korea and Malaysia make up the Super 4s stage of the Hockey Asia Cup 2022. The top two teams from this stage will go on to face each other in the finals of the competition. Both India and Pakistan have won the prestigious tournament three times each, while South Korea is the most successful team having clinched the title four times out of 10 previous editions.

[KH_ADWORDS type="4" align="center"][/KH_ADWORDS]

Team India

India are the defending Asia Cup Hockey champions and will kickstart their campaign against archrivals Pakistan. Many of the top Indian players are giving the tournament a miss, giving the next crop a chance to make their mark.

The Men in Blue will look to finish on the podium. This will help provide positive momentum to their 2023 FIH World Cup campaign.

India Squad for Asia Cup Hockey 2022

Sardar Singh will be the coach of the Indian hockey team with plenty of fresh faces at the Asia Cup Hockey 2022. It is a side that features fringe players and will be led by Birendra Lakra.

Goalkeepers: Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Suraj Karkera 

Defenders: Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Yashdeep Siwach, Abhishek Lakra, Birendra Lakra (C), Manjeet, Dipsan Tirkey 

Midfielders: Vishnukant Singh, Raj Kumar Pal, Mareeswaren Sakthivel, Sheshe Gowda BM, Simranjeet Singh 

Forwards: Pawan Rajbhar, Abharan Sudev, SV Sunil (Vice-Captain), Uttam Singh, S Karthi


For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.