Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Pro Kabaddi League

Teams with most Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) titles

Published at :February 27, 2024 at 8:36 PM
Modified at :February 27, 2024 at 8:36 PM
Post Featured Image

Siddharthan P

A total of 6 teams have won the prestigious Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) title over the years.

When Anand Mahindra along with Charu Sharma announced that the world is set to witness Kabaddi in a reinvented form, many thought it was another attempt to bring an IPL-style franchise league to another sport, which was prevalent in the last decade. Kabaddi being a rural-based traditional sport, many questioned if it is capable of becoming an international sport. But Anand and Charu’s confidence went sky high when former NBA International President, Heidi Ueberroth during her visit to India suggested how it is ideally suited for Television audiences.

All these predictions came true right from the inception of the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) in 2014 as it became the second-most watched league on television in India after the Indian Premier League. The Indianness of the league is the eye-catching stuff for the fans as PKL’s fan base continues to grow big. Starting in 2014, the league had eight teams and after four seasons, another four teams were added to make it a 12-team league now. The League is now a decade old and let’s back at the title winners of the league.

Patna Pirates – 3 PKL Titles (Season 3, Season 4, Season 5)

Patna Pirates is the most successful team in PKL history with three titles. It was a hatrick of titles as they became champions in season 3, season 4, and Season 5. Pardeep Narwal became the first superstar from the league as he laid the stone behind the success of the franchise. In the league stage of season 3, Pardeep Narwal and Rohit Kumar combined to collect 194 raid points, with Narwal scoring 92 raid points in 14 matches and Kumar scoring 102 in 12 games. Together, they constituted the most formidable raiding combination in the league. They beat U Mumba 28-31 in the finals.

In the Pro Kabaddi League’s season 4 final, Pardeep Narwal led the Patna Pirates to victory over the Jaipur Pink Panthers with an outstanding effort. The third-season champions Patna dominated the match from the first whistle. With Dharmaraj Cheralathan lifting the cup, the Patna unit created history by becoming the only team in the tournament’s history to win the trophy twice.

As the raider with 369 raid points and leading in every raiding category, Narwal’s third season with the Pirates was perhaps the best by a player in PKL history. The Pirates go to their third consecutive PKL final, and Narwal maintained his incredible play in the championship game, leading the team to a 55-38 triumph over Gujarat Fortunegiants with 19 raid points to complete a hattrick of titles.

Jaipur Pink Panthers – 2 PKL Titles (Season 1, Season 9)

Jaipur Pink Panthers have the record for winning the inaugural edition of the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL). The Pink Panthers had a dream run, as they were the most consistent and dominant team throughout the season. As the table toppers, they concluded the league stage. Jaipur finished with 54 points from 14 games, winning 10, losing 3, and drawing one. Later, they defeated U Mumba 35–24 in the championship match. In his first PKL season, Maninder Singh, a Jaipur player, led all scorers with ten points in the championship game. The other two Jaipur significant contributors were Jasvir Singh (four points) and Rajesh Narwal (six points).

The Sunil Kumar Malik-led team defeated Puneri Paltan 33-29 in the final to win Jaipur’s second PKL championship in 2022–2023. Leading from the front, Sunil Kumar scored six points in the top match. Their captain was complemented by six raid points apiece from Arjun Deshwal, the season’s most valuable player, and Ajith Kumar. Ankush set a record for the most tackles (89) in a PKL season by a debutant.

U Mumba – 1 PKL Title (Season 2)

In the season 2 final, U Mumba defeated the Bengaluru Bulls to capture their first-ever PKL trophy. When it counted most, they delivered a complete show. In addition to leading the team admirably, captain Anup Kumar scored seven points in the championship game. With 10 points in the game, Shabeer Bapu led U Mumba in scoring, and Rishank Devadiga and Vishal Mane each added five points to help the team win. Throughout the competition, the Mumbai squad dominated. With 12 victories from 14 games, they emerged as the league’s top team.

Bengaluru Bulls – 1 PKL Title (Season 6)

The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) Season 6 champions, Bengaluru Bulls, were declared victorious. Under Rohit Kumar’s captaincy, they won the Pro Kabaddi trophy for the first time with their victory over Gujarat Giants in the championship match. The Bulls had a spectacular comeback in the championship game. They were behind the Giants, 16-9, at the half. But in the second half, they turned things around and won in the end thanks to ‘Hi-Flyer’ Pawan Sehrawat single-handedly winning it scoring 22 of the final scoreline 38-33.

Bengal Warriors – 1 PKL Title (Season 7)

The Bengal Warriors won their first PKL title in season 7. The Warriors triumphed over Dabang Delhi in an exciting Ahmedabad final. Regretfully, an injury forced Warriors captain Maninder Singh to miss the championship game. With 205 raid points, he was also their best raider that season. In the end, Maninder placed sixth among all raiders in PKL 7.

The Bengal Warriors were headed in this scenario by Mohammad Nabibakhsh, an all-rounder from Iran. Nabibakhsh took over as captain for the final and led from the front, scoring 10 points to help his team win the championship. The knowledgeable Sukesh Hegde provided him with good support, offering eight important points.

Dabang Delhi – 1 PKL Title (Season 8)

With a thrilling victory over the Patna Pirates, Dabang Delhi lifted their first-ever PKL Trophy under the guidance of seasoned defender Joginder Narwal. When the final whistle blew, the score was 37-36 in Dabang Delhi’s favour, making it a worthy match for the championship. For Delhi, Naveen Kumar and Vijay Malik stole the show. Vijay scored 14 points, which was a nice complement to Naveen’s 13 points. Naveen concluded the competition as the fourth-best raider with 207 raid points.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Kabaddi on FacebookTwitterInstagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.