News Article

Who voted for who at FIFA-The Best 2017: Sunil Chhetri and Stephen Constantine and more…

Written by: Tushaar Sachdeva


Cristiano Ronaldo has now equalled Lionel Messi's record of winning four trophies of being the 'World's Best Player'.

The other night, almost everybody’s attention was towards the FIFA gala which is held annually for rewarding the on-field heroics of the players that made the game a little more beautiful and made a mark in the history books. FIFA - The Best Football Awards 2017 was held on 23 October 2017 in London, England and works with a voting procedure by International Captains, Coaches and a Media representative from every country.

Every individual is ought to vote 3 players in a hierarchal model with the 1st name getting 5 points, 2nd 3 points and 3rd a point.One of the X-factor of this award ceremony is that everything is transparent. Every person’s vote is on display once after the ceremony is held and it cannot get more interesting to know who voted for whom?

The Best FIFA Men’s player

Sunil Chhetri (Indian captain)

Chhetri’s 3 votes were Sergio Ramos, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, in the same order. As the Indian captain, Sunil knows how hard is it to push his team for a result at crunch situations while keeping his personal performances upright. Just like Ramos and Ronaldo, he has driven his team forward on several situations, most recently in the qualifiers of AFC Asian Cup.

Stephan Constantine (Indian Manager)

Unlike his talisman, Stephen Constantine voted for Pierre Aubameyang, N'Golo Kante and Toni Kroos. The Indian Coach certainly understands how difficult it is to work out from a minor African country and make it big in Europe, having managed Rwanda before. Constantine is also a big Arsenal fan and wants Aubemeyang to play for the London side.

Dhiman Sarkar (Indian journalist, Hindustan Times)

Dhiman Sarkar is a well-known sports journalist, specializing in Football. He works for Hindustan times and has an experience of 2 decades. His votes were Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Gigi Buffon.

Let's take a look at the favourites of the World's Top two players!

Cristiano Ronaldo - Luka Modric, Sergio Ramos and Marcelo

Lionel Messi - Luis Suárez, Andrés Iniesta and Neymar

Cristiano Ronaldo won with 43.16% of the total votes while Messi came close with 19.25% of votes. Neymar stood third with 6.97% of the votes, bettering Gianluigi Buffon with .15% votes.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

The Indian Captain’s 3 votes went to Antonio Conte, Zinedine Zidane and Mauricio Pochettino while his coach went on to select Joachim Low, Mauricio Pochettino and Massimiliano Allegri. Dhiman Sarkar went on to vote for Zidane and Low but the standout vote was Tite.

Cristiano Ronaldo – Zinedine Zidane, Jose Mourinho and Leonardo Jardim.

Lionel Messi - Luis Enrique, Pep Guardiola and Diego Simeone.


FIFA U-17 World Cup Semifinal Preview: European heavyweights take on African bullies

FIFA U-17 World Cup Semifinal Preview: Three Lions vs the Selecao - The dream battle

'Meeting Phillipe Coutinho and James Milner is something I will never forget': Lallianzuala Chhangte

When Jeakson scored that goal I knew I was in love again - This time, with Indian football

FIFA Puskas Award - The Best goal of the Year


Olivier Giroud won the FIFA Puskas award for his Scorpion kick in the English Premier League on 1st January 2017 against Crystal Palace. 

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper

From one legend to another

Buffon was the winner with 42.42% while Neuer came in 2nd with 32.32%. Buffon was the runner-up at the previous season's UEFA Champions League with Juventus and won the domestic double in Italy.


World XI standing in the 4-3-3 formation

Goalkeeper - Buffon (Juventus)

Defenders - Dani Alves (Juventus-Paris Saint Germain)

                  Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

                  Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus-AC Milan)

                  Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Midfielders - Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

                   Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

                   Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Forwards -  Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

                 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

                 Neymar (Barcelona-Paris Saint Germain)

Published: Tue Oct 24, 2017 08:27 PM IST


Welcome to Khel Now!