News Article

ISL 2019-20: Fixtures unveiled, Kerala Blasters to host ATK in opener on October 20

Written by: Tushaar Sachdeva


The league stage of the campaign will end on 23rd February 2020.

The schedule for the Indian Super League's 2019-20 season is out and for the third time running, Kerala Blasters and ATK will play the season opener on 20th October 2019. The game is expected to be played at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi. However, the venues have not been formally assigned yet.

The first gameweek will feature the main game between defending champions Bengaluru FC and previous season's semi-finalists NorthEast United. The other two semi-finalists, FC Goa and Mumbai City FC, will face Chennaiyin and Kerala on 23rd and 24th October respectively. While Jamshedpur will host Delhi Dynamos on 22nd October.

All the matches will kickoff at 7:30 PM IST, with a brief pause between 10th and 23rd November due to the international break.

Coming into the sixth season, two of the ten ISL clubs are reported to be shifting their base, with the Dynamos moving to Bhubaneswar and FC Pune City likely going to Hyderabad. The reason for the absence of concrete information about the venues could be the reported move of cities by the clubs. Interestingly, Delhi are not scheduled to play a home game until 24th November.

One of the interesting parts of the schedule is that the season will be ending before the March 2019 international break, which will give plenty of time for the Indian national team to prepare for their games at the time.


Along with the ISL, the I-League is also expected to start from 5th November 2019.

Published: Fri Aug 23, 2019 04:32 PM IST


Welcome to Khel Now!