News Article

Shillong Lajong to face Langsning in opening fixture if U-18 Youth League Zonal Round on 22nd October

Written by: Shillong Lajong FC


The Reds were the only team to remain undefeated out of the 55 teams that participated in the league in the previous season.

U-18 Youth League Defending Champions, Shillong Lajong FC will face off Langsning FC in their opening game of the U-18 Youth League Zonal Round on the 22nd October at the MFA Turf at 2 PM.

Shillong Lajong Junior Boys won their maiden U-18 Youth League title in May this year. They defeated Kerala Blasters by a 2-0 margin in the finals at the JN Stadium Shillong. Majority of those boys have now been promoted to the senior team.

The Reds were the only team to remain undefeated out of the 55 teams that participated in the league in the previous season and scored a total of 23 goals, conceding just three in the entire tournament.

Coach Bobby Nongbet will be the head coach for the U-18 side, Aibok Kharpran will be the assistant coach, Milan Nongkhlaw will take care of manager duties of the team and Vicky N Syiem is the team physio.

Speaking ahead of their first match, Coach Bobby Nongbet said, “It’s the new season of the U-18 Youth League with a fresh team and new challenges. The league gets tougher every year and with more ISL teams, I-League teams and academies participating, the league will only take us to the next level of the competition.”

“We will do whatever we can to defend the title with a relatively new squad this season. Majority of the players from last season have been promoted to the senior team and will be playing in the Hero I-League so the team that we have at the moment is much younger and very promising too.”


The first match will be against local rivals, Langsning FC and Bobby also shared a few words on the opponents. He said, “Langsning is not a team to be underestimated. They have showcased good performances in the U-18 Shillong Premier League and even got the better of us during that time. But we are shaping well as a team and I think it will be a good derby match. We have to be sharp and work harder to overcome them”, he concluded.



Akash Thapa (Meghalaya)

Rajat Paul Lyngdoh (Meghalaya)

Vanlalhriata (Mizoram)

Bishal Lama (Sikkim)


Habymmutshuh Nongrum (Meghalaya)

Kynsai Khongsit (Meghalaya)

Naoroibam Romen Singh (Manipur)

Apborlang Kurbah (Meghalaya)

A.Rakesh Singh (Manipur)

Kitboklang Khyriem (Meghalaya)

Muhammed Safique Ahmed (Manipur)

Dajied Wanshnong (Meghalaya)

Denzil gorby Warjri (Meghalaya)

Aman Ahlawat (Haryana)


Abedniko Kurbah (Meghalaya)

Baiaikara Swer (Meghalaya)

Freestar Kharbangar (Meghalaya)

Maxderidoff Wahlang (Meghalaya)

Phrangki Buam (Meghalaya)

Samuel James Lyngdoh Kynshi (Meghalaya)

Aenam Graffenberg Jyrwa (Meghalaya)

Donboklang Lyngdoh (Meghalaya)

Lalrohlua (Mizoram)

Batskhemlang Thangkhiew (Meghalaya)

Remark Kharmalki (Meghalaya)

Solomon Mangte (Manipur)

Sunil Chettri (Mizoram)


Batiplang Synteng Bamon (Meghalaya)

Parvaj Bhuiya (Tripura)

Thongram Santosh Singh (Manipur)

Head Coach:                     

Bobby Nongbet                               

Assistant Coach:               

Aibok Kharpran                

Team Manager:             

Milan Nongkhlaw                            


Vicky N Syiem

Published: Fri Oct 19, 2018 05:31 PM IST


Welcome to Khel Now!