France’s World Cup winning tactician Didier Deschamps walked away with the Manager of the Year prize.

The FIFA: The Best Award ceremony was held in London on the 24th of September 2018 where several awards including the Men’s and Women’s Player of the year, the Puskas award for the best goal of the year and the Best manager of the year.

The winners were voted for by professional footballers from over 65 countries following the nominations earlier in the month.

We at Khel Now take a look at the winners and their achievements over the last season that earned them their respective awards.

FIFA Puskas Award:

The Puskas award goes to the player who has scored the best goal in the 2017-2018 footballing season. Mohamed Salah of Liverpool won the award for his stunning curling strike against Everton in the Merseyside Derby. The Egyptian won the award over the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale who were also nominated candidates.

FIFA Men’s Best Coach Award:

Former Arsenal manager, Arsene Wenger presented the award to Didier Deschamps who led his French side to World Cup glory in Russia earlier in the year. Zlatko Dalic, the coach of the Croatian National team and the former Real Madrid manager, Zinedine Zidane were also nominated for the award.


Why Jeje Lalpekhlua will be crucial to Chennaiyin’s campaign this season

Resilient India hold mighty Iran in AFC U-16 Chamionship

ISL 2018-19 Team Profile: Jamshedpur FC

FIFA Best Goalkeeper Award:

Thibaut Courtois who is currently of Real Madrid won the award for his admirable performances at the 2018 World Cup in Russia where he made a massive 27 saves over the course of the tournament, more than any other goalkeeper in the competition. He won the award over the likes of Hugo Lloris and Kasper Schmeichel who were also nominated.

FIFA Best Women’s coach Award:

Reynald Pedros took home the award following his spectacular season in charge of the Lyon Women’s team with whom he won the French Women’s league as well as the UEFA Champions League.

FIFA Fan Award:

The fans of the game around the world voted the fans of the Peruvian National side as the best in the world. This award was the only award on offer on the night that was completely decided by the fans.

Fair Play Award:

Lennart sacrificed a game for his club VVV-Venlo against PSV Eindhoven and what would have been a very proud personal moment for him to donate stem cells to a patient suffering from Leukaemia. This act of selfless kindness was awarded with the FIFA Fair Play award.

FIFPro World XI:

The FIFPro World XI is a collection of the eleven best players in their respective positions that have put in outstanding performances over the course of the 2017-2018 season. The team is as follows,

GK: David De Gea

LB: Marcelo

CB: Sergio Ramos

CB: Raphael Varane

RB: Dani Alves

View this post on Instagram

What a team! Your FIFPro @world11! #TheBest #football #soccer

A post shared by Khel Now (@khelnow) on

MF: N’Golo Kante

MF: Luka Modric

CAM: Eden Hazard

RW: Lionel Messi

LW: Kylian M’bappe

CF: Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA Best Women’s Player Award:

Brazilian Marta, who plays for the Orlando Pride, wins the Best Women’s Award. She led Brazil to the Copa America in April, as they won all seven matches. Marta scored 13 goals and made six assists as her side reached the NWSL playoff semi-finals.

FIFA Men’s Best Player Award:

The most eagerly awaited award of the night went to Luka Modric of Real Madrid and Croatia. The man who was once named the worst transfer of 2012 accepted the award ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohammad Salah on what was an emotional night for the 32-year old.