These three players enjoyed the privilege of playing on the biggest stage in World football, the most.

With only a few days left for the World Cup to begin, all the participants have started their preparations. The World Cup will see several veteran players who have previously participated in the tournament and have made a name for themselves.

Based on their respective groups, we take a look at three players who have had ythe most number of appearances at football’s biggest extravaganza.

Antonio Carvajal- Mexico

Born in 1929, Antonio Carvajal Rodriguez, played for Mexico in five editions of the World Cup, starting from 1950. One of the greatest players of all time to come from Mexico, Carvajal made his international debut in the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro on June 24, 1950, against Brazil.

Carbajal featured in five World Cups for Mexico


He was the youngest goalkeeper at the tournament when he participated in the biggest tournament for the first time. He also won the World Cup’s Golden Glove award four consecutive times.

Lothar Matthaeus- Germany

Lothar Herbert Matthäus is a former German player and now manager player, who led West Germany to victory at the 1990 FIFA World Cup. Matthaus took part in five consecutive World Cups, starting from 1982. He was named European Footballer of the Year in 1991 and was named the first ever FIFA World Player of the Year. He is the only German to have received the award.

Matthaeus was a versatile and complete player who spent most of his club career at Bayern Munich. He was renowned for his accurate passing, positional sense, well-timed tackling and powerful shooting. During his career, he usually played as a box-to-box midfielder, controlling the game.


FIFA World Cup 2018: Group E Preview

5 things to keep in mind while visiting Russia for World Cup

FIFA World Cup 2018 Venue Guide: Rostov Arena

Gianluigi Buffon- Italy

Juventus and Italy legend Gianluigi Buffon was the first goalkeeper ever to win the Serie A Footballer of the Year award and has also been named the Serie A Goalkeeper of the Year a record 12 times. Buffon took part in five World Cups (1998, 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014) where he was instrumental each time and was a pivotal member of Italy’s title-winning squad of 2006.

Buffon is considered as one of the best goalkeepers of this generation

He has also been named the IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper a record five times, alongside Iker Casillas and was also named the best goalkeeper of the 21st century.

Buffon was also named by the legendary Pelé in the FIFA 100 list of the world’s greatest living players in 2004. Following his 2006 World Cup victory with Italy, where he kept a record five clean-sheets, he won the Yashin Award, in which he was also elected to be part of the ‘Team of the Tournament’. Buffon was also the runner-up for the Ballon d’Or in 2006.