Winger Holicharan Narzary also returns to the national fold as Michael Spoosairaj misses out.

Indian national team head coach Igor Stimac has named the 34 players who are set to join the national camp ahead of the all-important World Cup Qualifiers. The players will be assembling at the camp on August 19 in Goa, with practice kicking-off from the next day.

The Blue Tigers will kick-start their campaign against Oman at home in Guwahati on 5th September, followed by the toughest test against Qatar in the group on 10th September away from home in Doha.

India weren’t exceptional at the Intercontinental Cup, where they lost against Tajikistan and North Korea, conceding nine goals in the first two matches of the tournament. However, Stimac’s men ended the tournament with an improved 1-1 draw against Syria.

The Croatian tactician has tried and tested different players in his system and hopefully can get the best out of those he has called for the national camp. Curiously, the former Hajduk Split manager has opted not to play any friendlies ahead of their first game against Oman, which will be a very crucial one for the Blue Tigers, if they want to have any chance to qualify for the next round of the Qualifiers.

India are clubbed in a group with Oman, Qatar, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. Ashique Kuruniyan finds his way back into the squad after a period out with injury, whereas Holicharan Narzary who was a regular under Stephen Constantine also returns. However Michael Soosairaj who was in the King’s Cup party has failed to make the cut. 

The 34 man squad called for the national camp by Stimac ahead of the matches against Oman and Qatar in the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh, Vishal Kaith

Defenders: Rahul Bheke, Nishu Kumar, Pritam Kotal, Anas Edathodika, Sandesh Jhingan, Anwar Ali (Jr.), Narender Gahlot, Sarthak Golui, Adil Khan, Salam Ranjan Singh, Subhasish Bose, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Mandar Rao Dessai

Midfielders: Nikhil Poojary, Udanta Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Raynier Fernandes, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul Samad, Amarjit Singh, Pronay Halder, Brandon Fernandes, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Halicharan Narzary, Ashique Kuruniyan

Forwards: Balwant Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Jobby Justin, Farukh Choudhary, Manvir Singh.