While Francesco Totti and Zlatan Ibrahimovic dreamt of winning it for once, these players did it the most times with ease.

Cristiano Ronaldo created history as Real Madrid won the 13th Champions league title of their illustrious history. The Portuguese forward lifted the title for the 5th time in his career and for the 4th time in his last five seasons with the Madrid club. This dominance at a club level has seen the 33-year old go down in history as one of the greatest European players of all time.

We at Khel Now take a look at the players with the most UCL titles in the history of the competition.

5) Lionel Messi

The Argentinean forward always finds himself in a battle with Cristiano Ronaldo for footballing supremacy and for good reason. The Barcelona man puts in season after season of spectacular performances and has guided the Catalan club to four Champions League titles. He scored past Manchester United’s Edwin Van Der Saar in 2009 and 2011 in the final of the competition to seal his second and third European titles. The 30-year-old was left out of the final in 2006 but had played his part in the Group Stages of the tournament, earning himself a place on the podium.

Victories: 2006, 2009, 2011, 2015

4) Xavi Hernandez

Messi’s former Barcelona teammate and one of the legends of the game is the next player on our list, with the Spanish midfielder securing 4 Champions League titles over the course of his career. Similar to Lionel Messi, the Spaniard was not picked for the 2006 final, but would go on to become the mainstay of one of the most iconic teams ever to grace the pitch. The midfielder no longer plays in Europe, but his legacy as one of the greatest players that the game has ever seen lives on.

Victories: 2006, 2009 ,2011, 2015

Also Read:

Analysis: What does Liverpool’s Champions League defeat mean for English football?

Player Ratings: Super-sub Bale powers Madrid to unprecedented Champions League hat-trick

How Germany have evolved since 2014

3) Clarence Seedorf

The Dutch midfielder is widely regarded as one of the best midfielders of his generation and remains the only player to reach the pinnacle of club football with three different teams. His first UCL title came with an Ajax team managed by Louis Van Gaal, which could boast of the likes of Patrick Kluivert and Kanu in its ranks. Seedorf would go on to win the title three more times in his stints with Real Madrid and AC Milan. The Dutchman is without a shadow of a doubt, a legend of the competition.

Seedorf in the Champions League History

Victories: 1995, 1998, 2003, 2007

2) Andres Iniesta

Iniesta played the second half of the 2005-06 UCL Final and started every other triumph

The Spanish midfielder is on par with Seedorf at four Champions League titles. Along with Xavi and Messi, Iniesta would firmly establish himself as on of the legendary Barcelona team that we have had the pleasure of watching for all these years. The Spaniard put an end to his Barcelona career in 2018, leaving behind a legacy that will stay with the club for generations. He would regularly light up the Champions League with world-class performances from midfield. Unlike his teammates, he was part of the Barcelona team that played the final in 2006.

Victories: 2006, 2009, 2011, 2015

1) Cristiano Ronaldo

Goals from Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema sealed a 13th Champions league title and a fifth for the Portuguese individually. Cristiano Ronaldo holds no less than 8 Champions League records and he doesn’t look like slowing down. His first Champions League title came back in 2008, with Manchester United. Ronaldo scored in the final and United went on to beat Chelsea in a penalty shoot-out. The 33-year-old’s next title came in 2014 when he won La Decima with Real Madrid. Three titles in the next four years followed making Ronaldo arguably the most successful player in the history of the competition.

Victories: 2008, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018

Every player harbours ambitions of lifting the Champions League trophy aloft over their heads, but to do it as many times as the legends on this list beggars belief, these are players who will be forever remembered as the greatest to ever grace the beautiful game and will be forever sown into the ethos of the greatest club competition in the world.