This will be the first Euros to be played in a unified Germany.

In the unanimous meeting held in the Swiss headquarters, Union of European Football Associations has announced that Germany will host the Euro 2024. The German bid had Turkey against them.

Germany successfully hosted the FIFA World Cup in 2006. But on the European front, they have never hosted the tournament after unifying the East and West Germany. West Germany hosted in 1988.

The bid from Germany proposed over ten stadiums with the total capacity of 2.78 million spectators, 290,000 more than the rival bid of Turkey. It gave Germany a monetary edge from potential ticket revenue.

UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin had made clear it is crucial “to make as much money as possible,” from Euro 2024.

Ceferin, vice presidents Swedish Karl-Erik Nilsson, Portuguese Fernando Gomes, Ukrainian Grigoriy Surkis, Italian Michele Uva and British David Gill voted to determine the host.

The executive members who were eligible to vote include French Florence, Hardouin Polish Zbigniew Boniek, Hungarian Sandor Csanyi, Irish John Delaney, Swedish Peter Gillieron, Bulgarian Borislav Mihaylov, Spanish Juan Luis Larrea Sarobe, Croatian Davor Suker, Dutch Michael van Praag, Italian Andrea Agnelli and British Ivan Gazidis.


Turkey’s Servet Yardımcı, another member of the executive committee, and Germany’s Reinhard Grindel, a vice president of the UEFA, were not eligible to vote.

Earlier, the committee approved the use of Video Assistant Referees (VAR) in the UEFA Champions League from next season and for Euro 2020, following similar moves by FIFA and other top leagues.