National Coach Stephen Constantine announced his probable squad of 28 Players for India’s forthcoming International Friendly against Puerto Rico which is scheduled to be played at the Mumbai Football Arena in Mumbai on September 3, 2016..

This will be the first ever Official International match in Mumbai in 61 years since India last played USSR in 1955.

This is also the first time ever that a Team from the CONCACAF region will be officially playing in India. Puerto Rico are placed 114 in the FIFA Rankings in comparison to India at 152.

“It’s a hugely important match for the people in Maharashtra that International Football is back in Mumbai after a long gap. Mumbai, as vibrant as ever, has been known for its Football culture and I hope the Indian fans will be turning up to support and cheer from the Stands. It’s important that we have a good crowd,” Constantine said

Click here to see more pictures of Mumbai Football Arena.

“The buzz in Mumbai is something that the Team is looking forward to. Personally for me, all the cosmopolitan Cities of the Country should be ready to host the National Team, he added.

Constantine informed that all the Players would be reporting to the Camp on August 28 with practice sessions beginning next day (August 29).

Commenting on Puerto Rico, the Coach maintained that it would be an “extremely tough” match.

“Puerto Rico were the best movers in the FIFA Rankings in July 2016. I have been watching some of their matches and they boast about a lot of Players who play in quality Leagues all over the World including Europe and the USA,” he stated.

“They are a Country similar to Guam. It’s an American colony and are a very good side. It will be a very tough game and we hope we can put up a good performance.”

The list of 28 Players is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh

DEFENDERS: Rino Anto, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Keegan Pereira, Chinglensana Singh, Pritam Kotal, Narayan Das, Fulganco Cardozo.

MIDFIELDERS: Vinit Rai, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Dhanpal Ganesh, Pronay Halder, Jackichand Singh, Isaac Vanmalsawma, Bikash Jairu, Udanta Singh, Halicharan Narzary, Rowlin Borges, Alwyn George, Germanpreet Singh, Md. Rafique, Arjun Tudu.

FORWARDS: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi.

The world’s most exciting and comprehensive social platform for sports fans. Khel Now is your favorite sports app – Support your favorites by following and rating them – Find other sports fans like yourself on Khel Now – Share photos, videos, reviews and ratings today

Download our Android App –