The ladies will take part in two international friendlies against the South-east Asian nation later this month…

The Indian Women’s national team will be commencing their preparatory camp in New Delhi from July 16 – 26, 2017 for their back-to-back international friendly matches against Malaysia later this month.

The Indian women will take on the Malaysian national team in Malaysia on July 29, 2017, before clashing again on July 31, 2017. 25 Players have been selected for the preparatory camp in the capital, with the list being further trimmed down for the final squad.

The Indian women have endured mixed form in recent times being thrashed 7-1 by Uzbekistan before winning 2-0 against Hong Kong in the AFC Women’s Asian Cup qualifiers in DPR Korea earlier this year.

The team has slid down the FIFA rankings in recent times and is currently ranked 60th. However, they still enjoy a comfortable lead over their male counterparts who are placed 96th. That said, the win against Hong Kong was his last game at the helm for head coach Sajid Dar who has now been replaced by assistant Maymol Rocky.

Rocky, a former India international herself has been an integral part of the national team’s backroom staff and was part of the setup that saw the ladies lift a fourth successive SAFF Women’s Championship. She was previously scouting for talent in the first edition of the Women’s I-League that took place earlier this year.

Also read Women’s Day Special: Dalima Chhibber – Indian Footballer

It is a dream come true for Rocky who has always been keen to take over the reigns of the national team while she continues to pursue her AFC Pro License.

The list of the 25 Players follows below:

Goalkeepers: Panthoi Chanu, Roshni Devi, Kumari Vinitha. 

Defenders: Ashalata Devi, Manisha Panna, Umapati Devi, Dalima Chhibber, Radharani Devi, Jabamani Tudu, Tony Devi, Sweety Devi.

Midfielders: Premi Devi, Lochana Munda, Sanju Yadav, Prameshwori Devi, Bindyarani Devi, Ritu Rani, Indumathi Kathiresan, Mandakini Devi.

Forwards: Ratanbala Devi, Kamala Devi, Anju Tamang, Pyari Xaxa, Bala Devi, Dangmei Grace

Head Coach: Maymol Rocky