The Frenchman had refused to travel to India due to multiple players withdrawing from the national squad leaving for club duties.

With the Intercontinental Cup kicking off in Mumbai, Kenya head coach Sebastien Migne has finally agreed to fly to India to take charge of the Kenyan national team for the tournament.

The announcement that the Frenchman would indeed be flying to India was in response to reports stating that he had refused to turn up for the tournament following the recall of eight members of his already depleted squad by their clubs.

The Frenchman was accompanied on his journey to India on Friday by his assistant Nicolas Bourriquet-cor, goalkeeping coach Guilaune Coffey and Osteopath Ludovic Breul and will take charge of his side in their opening fixture against New Zealand on Saturday.

The Kenyan Football Federation (FKF) have insisted that the late arrival of the head coach was due to complications with certain travel documents, rather than a refusal to travel on part of the Frenchman. Earlier, Mathare United’s Francis Kimanzi looked set to take over the reins of the side in the metropolis.

“I can confirm that the coach has left for India. His travel documents plus for those for his assistants were sorted out and he will be with the team,” FKF Media Officer Barry Otieno told Goal.

Also Read:

11 players who will miss the Intercontinental Cup 2018

Kenya coach Sebastian Migne refuses to travel to India for Intercontinental Cup

Kenya, Chinese Taipei & New Zealand coaches explain inexperienced squads in Intercontinental Cup

The Harambee Stars will be without Tottenham Hotspur star Victor Wanyama and Girona FC striker Michael Olunga for the tournament. These players were not included in the final 23-man squad submitted for the tournament. However, following the submission of the final squad, no less than eight senior players were recalled from the national team to fulfil prior commitments with their respective clubs, leaving Migne with a highly inexperienced and weakened squad.

Here is a list of the squad that will be taking part in the Intercontinental Cup:

Goalkeepers: Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers) and Bryne Omondi (Tusker).

Defenders: Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Musa Mohammed (Un-attached), Michael Kibwage (AFC Leopards), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United), Dennis Odhiambo (Thika United), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), Bolton Omwenga (Kariobangi Sharks) and Erick Ouma (KF Tirana).

Midfielders: Kenneth Muguna (KF Tirana), Vincent Wasambo (Kariobangi Sharks), Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks), Chrispin Oduor (Mathare United), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC) and Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards).

Forwards: Ovella Ochieng (Kariobangi Sharks), Timothy Otieno (Tusker FC), John Makwatta (Buildcon FC) and Pistone Mutamba (Wazito FC).